Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made these twice and neither time did they firm up. Followed recipe exactly but both times stayed very soft. Taste was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I tried this recipe and there is no way they can be considered a candy. I followed the recipe and i had to pipe them as there was no way i could roll this. they have been drying for over 3 hours and i still can't pick them up. i am going to try to salvage them by dipping them in chocolate but will probably have to freeze them first to handle them. This recipe needs a lot of adjusting to get right so that doesn't make it a good recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I was looking for something to add to the Christmas cookie tray and noticed these could be frozen. They were quick and easy to make. I tried a half a recipe and got 36 mints. I would definitely do the full recipe next time. I scooped the filling onto parchment with a cookie scoop. I got 9 scoops, with half the recipe, which I cut into 4 pieces each. Rolling into a rope and cutting, which I originally planned, would have been to sticky. So, I rolled each piece into a mini marshmallow shape, dusting them or my hands with powdered sugar as needed. Then, I stood the pieces up and pressed with a fork, as suggested. It did make a nice even pattern. Next time I may experiment with food color paste or a mini candy or fondant mold for an imprint. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Absolutely EASY and fabulous! I made these for Christmas "goodie boxes" that I am sending out. I doubled the recipe (mistake!) and had far toooo many! I rolled the "dough" into small "snakes" and cut it with a knife and made them just like you buy in the stores. I did separate it into different batches and colored them with different Christmas colors. I'm keeping this SUPER EASY recipe! I did not have peppermint oil, so instead I used peppermint extract (1/4 teaspoon) and it was just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Haven't made these yet but hint they r as good as what my mom used to make - she used an icing bag with a star tip and made small stars and dried them well - we froze some and the rest went into a candy dish - gone within days usually - we always made flavored ones in matching colors- cherry - orange - lemon and more - always a huge hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
These are delicious little bites of heaven; however, they were VERY sticky to work with. Next time I plan to increase the powdered sugar by at least a cup! And I might dip some in chocolate for some excellent chocolate mints! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
yummy! Used stand mixer, and about 4 oz. of cream cheese and 4 cups of sugar. Mixed food coloring in before sugar and got a nice even color. We rolled them and then cut them like in the picture, but excited about all kinds of ways to form them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
First time making cream cheese mints & they are very easy to make! I used 8oz. cream cheese and 4 cups powdered sugar (due to stickyness). I used a 10" decorators bag w/a coupler and tip #199. I lined cookie sheets w/wax paper and sprinkled granulated sugar over paper. I was able to get 156 mints out of one batch. They are setting for 2 hrs as we speak. Time will tell, as well as my nephew after his Eagle Scout Ceremony! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Good recipe. If you plan to use a candy mold it will need a little more sugar.. just enough so it isn't sticky. but if using a spritz press it worked well just as is. I made rum flavored also came out a nice compliment to the mint flavored ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skybear
Photo by Meggy613
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
So good! I couldn't find peppermint oil any where so I used a 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract and it worked perfectly. I also added just a little bit of vanilla extract to offset a little of the mint. It was delicious. Suggestion for coloring: I had trouble mixing the color in last so I think next time I will color the powdered sugar, food coloring seems to work better with dry thigns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States