Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
yummy and easy and great for a baby shower, i made them blue and pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Yum! I made these last weekend for our daughter's baptism. I used 4 oz of Cream Cheese as another user suggested. I used 3 drops of red food coloring to make them a beautiful baby girl pink. I rolled them in granulated sugar for a fancier texture. Everyone loved them. They were easy to make (my 4 yr old son helped!) and very yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
I made these for Christmas this year, just to be a little different, and EVERYONE loved them. My dog actually ate an entire tray that was waiting to be refrigerated before I caught her . . . so she must have like them, too . . . and her breath certainly freshened up. I also tried to use the candy molds, as another reviewer suggested, but that didn't work at all. It just made a mess, and I wasted perfectly good mints. I also dipped the bottom of mine in melted Ghirardelli chocolate, turning them into what everyone thought were the best peppermint patties EVER created. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
These mints are totally yummy, but I did find that I had to add more peppermint oil than the recipe called for. I also shaped them into patties and dipped them in dark chocolate Wilton candy melts. The texture is exactly like York Peppermint Patties. You may want to use unsalted butter because the cream cheese does make them slightly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Made about 500 of these for a wedding reception. Talk about yum-yum-yummy! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! My tips: Use 4 oz. cream cheese instead of 3, use 1/2 tsp. peppermint oil, and use 5 drops food coloring (that made about 100 mints). I mixed all ingredients (except powdered sugar) with mixer, then added the powdered sugar and mixed by hand. I tore off little nibblets of the dough, tossed in granulated sugar, and pressed into candy molds. To allow mints to set up, I dried them on a cookie sheet, lined with waxed-paper (also, it helps to sprinkle granulated sugared all over the waxed-paper to keep mints from sticking) for about 2 hours, then transferred to freezer in sealed containers. Thawed in fridge the day before serving. Turned out better than any mints I've ever had! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I made these for Christmas but am just getting around to writing the review, because I'm going to make them again for Easter. They were extremely simple to make (my 3 yr old twins helped). I agree that you have to adjust the peppermint extract (it *has* to be extract, not imitation flavoring) to taste; I added more because I like a stronger mint flavor. We tinted them green and red, rolled the balls in sugar and pressed them with a cork into penny-sized mints -- good size, as any larger could be overly sweet. They dried just fine on waxed paper (maybe because of the small size) and they were a great and welcomed addition to every cookie tray I made. For Easter, we're making them the same size but tinting them pastel colors. These freeze extremely well and the texture remains the same -- creamy and smooth. Great recipe I'll keep on hand for something I need quickly for a fancy occasion or party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Just like the treats the ladies at church would bring for Christmas! Mine kept nicely for over a week in the refrigerator in a sealed container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
These were good, but they were so rich and thick that everyone who had them could only eat one (except my brother, The Iron Stomach). Chocolate coating goes well with it, but I'm not very good at doing that, so mine looked funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Pretty good and really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
My 12 year old daughter helped me make these. We did not add any food color and substituted 1/4 tsp. peppermint extract for the oil. Turned out just great! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States