Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I could not get these out of the candy molds that I put them in. They were very good though ,just rolled and cut and dried. Just a note, this recipe needs about a half teaspoon salt really brings out the flavors. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made these mints for my daughter's birthday party tomorrow. The first batch I made turned out horrible...it was too stiff to work with...I followed the recipe to the "T". I made again, split into two bowls and the mixture turned out perfect. I upped the peppermint oil to 4 drops. We like our mints strong! I sprinkled sugar on my pastry mat, rolled the mints into balls, then smashed them down using a spoon. The mints look great, but they would be even better using candy molds. These were fun to make with my 6 year old daughter...even more fun to eat! Thanks for sharing.----These are wonderful after they've been in the fridge for a while. If you want a really soft mint, refrigerate, then allow the mint to reach room temperature before serving. These are great however you wish to serve them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
All I can say about these mints are Wow! They were unbelieveable, melt in your mouth. Everyone loved them. I ate about half of them before anyone else had a chance. The only complaint is this recipie doesn't make nearly enough. I'd try the 8 oz. cream cheese. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I made these for a baby shower and they were a huge hit. I had bought baby shower candy molds, and rolled the dough in granulated sugar before pressing into the mold, then popping them out to dry on parchment paper. To store, I cut squares of parchment paper that fit into a ziploc bag, and slid them into the ziploc bag. I made them a couple of days before the shower but they would have been fine for at least a couple of weeks (I know, I had made more than I needed and kept nibbling on them!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made a double batch of these this morning (8 oz. block of cream cheese, 6 cups of sifted powdered sugar, and 1.5 teaspoons of peppermint extract, along with some icing color) but didn't get a chance to look at previous reviewers, which is why they didn't turn out as well as expected. I did use fat-free cream cheese, which another reviewer said was fine, as long as you added extra powdered sugar (which I didn't do). I ended up having to pipe the mints out of a giant icing bag, which was much easier, but even after 2 hours, they had not set. They had a crust, but were definitely tacky inside, and impossible to get off the wax paper without crushing them completely. I'll try again later today with additional sugar. BTW, this made about 3 cookie sheets full of large star-tip (1/2-inch tall?) shaped mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stareynoso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
What a great base recipe - perfect for an Easter treat! I needed to double the recipe since i was making them for a crowd and made them in my food processor which was SO EASY! I used more icing sugar than was called for - possibly even double what it called for. I just added until I had a workable dough-like texture in a ball. Then after taking the dough out, I weighed it, divided it into 5 equal parts and mixed each part in the food processor in a snap. I did the colors in order so it wouldn't matter to the next color.... ie. yellow, green, blue, violet, and then pink. I experimented with rolling "snakes" and cutting them, but I had to shape them that way too.... in the end it worked well to roll out the dough and cut with a small circle cookie cutter. Mine were a little larger than a dime. I dusted them with powdered sugar and will let them sit out on drying racks for a few hours before refrigerating them.** I didn't have any peppermint oil so for a double batch I used 3 tsp of extract.** Just made these again for a kids cooking class and they were so much fun to make. Lots of great ways to use them too.... bridal or baby shower... teacher gifts... Easter... Christmas... fun & easy as long as you make sure that you KEEP ADDING POWDERED SUGAR UNTIL YOU GET A SMOOTH BALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
These are so tatsty! I made two batches, one with mint extract and one with peppermint extract. I used a half teaspoon in each. While the half tsp. was fine for the mint, it was too strong for the peppermint. So I just made a larger batch of the peppermint to mellow it out. I use my pampered chef cookie press with the ribbon disk. I made long ribbons, cut them into rectangles, and then cut the rectangles in half making 1" squares. I then coated them with sugar. Worked nicely and quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This recipe saved me! My stepdaughter wanted me to make mints for her wedding, and I had lost my original recipe. I made over 1000 1" round 1/4" thick mints, rolled them in granulated sugar and they dried perfectly and within hours. Creamy perfection; my father-in-law, who hates cream cheese, said that the mints were the only thing worth eating at that reception (lol, he didn't know I made them). Thanks a billion, this recipe is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These are pretty good. I divided the dough into 3 parts, left one white and added green and red food coloring to the others. It took me about an hour and a half to roll all the dough into tiny little balls, but they look adorable and are quite tasty. The dough is much easier to work with after it has sat for a while and I did have to add about a 1/2 cup more of confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Yummy! I made them exactly as the recipe called for, and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States