Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
All I can say about these mints are Wow! They were unbelieveable, melt in your mouth. Everyone loved them. I ate about half of them before anyone else had a chance. The only complaint is this recipie doesn't make nearly enough. I'd try the 8 oz. cream cheese. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I made these for a baby shower and they were a huge hit. I had bought baby shower candy molds, and rolled the dough in granulated sugar before pressing into the mold, then popping them out to dry on parchment paper. To store, I cut squares of parchment paper that fit into a ziploc bag, and slid them into the ziploc bag. I made them a couple of days before the shower but they would have been fine for at least a couple of weeks (I know, I had made more than I needed and kept nibbling on them!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made a double batch of these this morning (8 oz. block of cream cheese, 6 cups of sifted powdered sugar, and 1.5 teaspoons of peppermint extract, along with some icing color) but didn't get a chance to look at previous reviewers, which is why they didn't turn out as well as expected. I did use fat-free cream cheese, which another reviewer said was fine, as long as you added extra powdered sugar (which I didn't do). I ended up having to pipe the mints out of a giant icing bag, which was much easier, but even after 2 hours, they had not set. They had a crust, but were definitely tacky inside, and impossible to get off the wax paper without crushing them completely. I'll try again later today with additional sugar. BTW, this made about 3 cookie sheets full of large star-tip (1/2-inch tall?) shaped mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stareynoso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
What a great base recipe - perfect for an Easter treat! I needed to double the recipe since i was making them for a crowd and made them in my food processor which was SO EASY! I used more icing sugar than was called for - possibly even double what it called for. I just added until I had a workable dough-like texture in a ball. Then after taking the dough out, I weighed it, divided it into 5 equal parts and mixed each part in the food processor in a snap. I did the colors in order so it wouldn't matter to the next color.... ie. yellow, green, blue, violet, and then pink. I experimented with rolling "snakes" and cutting them, but I had to shape them that way too.... in the end it worked well to roll out the dough and cut with a small circle cookie cutter. Mine were a little larger than a dime. I dusted them with powdered sugar and will let them sit out on drying racks for a few hours before refrigerating them.** I didn't have any peppermint oil so for a double batch I used 3 tsp of extract.** Just made these again for a kids cooking class and they were so much fun to make. Lots of great ways to use them too.... bridal or baby shower... teacher gifts... Easter... Christmas... fun & easy as long as you make sure that you KEEP ADDING POWDERED SUGAR UNTIL YOU GET A SMOOTH BALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
These are so tatsty! I made two batches, one with mint extract and one with peppermint extract. I used a half teaspoon in each. While the half tsp. was fine for the mint, it was too strong for the peppermint. So I just made a larger batch of the peppermint to mellow it out. I use my pampered chef cookie press with the ribbon disk. I made long ribbons, cut them into rectangles, and then cut the rectangles in half making 1" squares. I then coated them with sugar. Worked nicely and quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This recipe saved me! My stepdaughter wanted me to make mints for her wedding, and I had lost my original recipe. I made over 1000 1" round 1/4" thick mints, rolled them in granulated sugar and they dried perfectly and within hours. Creamy perfection; my father-in-law, who hates cream cheese, said that the mints were the only thing worth eating at that reception (lol, he didn't know I made them). Thanks a billion, this recipe is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These are pretty good. I divided the dough into 3 parts, left one white and added green and red food coloring to the others. It took me about an hour and a half to roll all the dough into tiny little balls, but they look adorable and are quite tasty. The dough is much easier to work with after it has sat for a while and I did have to add about a 1/2 cup more of confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Yummy! I made them exactly as the recipe called for, and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These are delicious. My Gramma made these for my wedding and this recipe is just like hers. I made them for Christmas, used red and green food coloring to make them look like individual red and green gift packages (from a Christmas mold I got at Walmart--the less detailed the mold, the better for this candy). I keep these in the freezer and take them out right before serving them (they don't freeze hard)- the colder they are the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palakpaneer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Wow, so delicious and fun! I made these for a Christmas party that I'm going to, and they are amazing! I did use 4 ounces of cream cheese instead of three for this recipe. I used 5-6 drops of food coloring per batch. I used rubber candy molds in the shape of a Christmas tree and jingle bells to shape them, which was time consuming but very fun, and they look so cute. The key to using the candy molds: refrigerate dough for a bit, then fill the candy mold with granulated sugar, then dump out the sugar (you want the inside of the mold to have a layer of sugar). Make marble sized balls out of the dough, then roll them in granulated sugar and press into mold. Remove the candy from the mold by just putting it over the cookie sheet lined with wax paper(sprinkled with sugar)and press it out. After a few, they will start to just fall out. I made the original recipe with peppermint and also made some using cinnamon oil. . . it is hard to pick a favorite, but my mom LOVED the cinnamon! Definitely worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States