Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I've made these a couple times and they go over well. Flavor is good and they aren't overly sweet. It is a little frustrating that they don't stay closed up. Last time I used another reviewers suggestion to cut circles and drop them in a mini muffin pan - they cook well and come out looking cute and almost like flowers, but you have to be very careful not to use too much jam or the overflow and make a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
While they were very tasty, they were also very crumbly. One or two cookies didn't fall apart when picked up, the rest were a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These are REALLY tasty but a bit tricky to get into proper form. I would highly recommend using flour to roll, as the recipe suggests, rather than the confectioner's sugar. I started that way and it was just too sticky. I also had trouble with the ends coming apart. Be sure to get the dough nice and thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookitup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
.5 cup of cream cheese, butter, and 2 cups flour was perfect ratio. I also added a couple tsps of vanilla extract. Along with .25 cup granulated sugar. Then rolled the dough out on confectioner sugar. Pie filler seems to stay in place the best. Also for those that cant figure it out. Wet the tips of the dough slightly, where you folds will over lap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Tender, flaky, and rich - just the way kolacky should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I make these cookie all the time. But I roll these in powder sugar which gives a little sugar they are perfect. KAYY24
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Very good but I had to modify. After I modified the recipe ingredients according to one reviewers suggestion (1/2 lb cream cheese, 1/2 lb butter, 2 cups flour) and turned the oven down to 350 degrees and lengthened the bake time the recipe was perfect. Very close to what I remember from my grandmother's Slovak kolaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
So easy and tasty! The dough turns out light and flaky. They are lightly sweet and delicate. I like them with Solo brand cherry filling, and they do not last long around this house. They are also surprisingly travel-sturdy, so they make great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
The dough had a great flavor and a flakey texture. I tried some with Solo filling...poppyseed, nut, apricot, prune & cherry fillings...and I tried some with different jams....the Solo worked best, the jams kind of ran out while they were baking. Very yummy, will make again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UtahJT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Grantsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States