Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Excellent. My mother-in-law made these each year. Rather a bit of work the original way. Love the short-cut tips, though they do not turn out quite so pretty. Anyhow, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
These are some seriously good cookies. I made a double batch and the family had eaten them all by the next day. I used apricot jam which was really yummy. Next time I'm going to try black raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I made these a little bit differently because I was making quick cookies w/my four year just for something to do on a rainy day. I didn't chill or roll them out, I used a cookie scoop and rolled the balls in vanilla sugar, poked a dimple in them and put the jam in there. Very easy and fast. When I make them again I will use a smaller scoop (the one I used was too big), flatten a little and fold over to make them a little prettier. It will still be fast. The flavor is excellent, and my 4 year old said "These are fantastic". Thanks for the tip about the solo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
beautiful cookie..I made them oval and sprinkled with powdered sugar. Great taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I really wanted to like this recipe. I followed the directions to the letter, except I used strawberry preserves and only chilled the dough for 5 hours yet found it to be just OK. The dough did retain its "cream" color and I would've preferred them to turn out a little more brown. Without the preserves and confectioner's sugar it isn't particularly sweet and I didn't think it was anything particularly special...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I chose this recipe because of all the positive reviews. Unfortunately these cookies didn’t turn out at all. The cookie never set. The dough was extremely sticky once I rolled it out. Perhaps I didn’t roll it out thin enough but even 5 additional minutes in the oven didn’t help the texture. On a positive note, Solo pie filling was excellent. It doesn’t run at all. It was the only good part of cookie. I’ll keep searching another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I have not made Kolackys before but have always liked them. The recipe is easy to follow and the fillings can be alternated. I made a cheese filling for mine. I also used fruit preserves with the cheese. The only thing I did differently was let the dough sit for only 2 hours and the came out great. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michiganfoodie
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Love these...have made them several times. My entire family loves them. The dough is a little difficult to handle, and must be done fairly quickly, but so worth it. Solo fillings are the best to use, and can be bought directly from their website. I bought 12 cans of different flavors, and it was less expensive than in the store. Also there are 13 different fruit and nut varieties. As others, said Solo does not get runny and the flavors are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I made these for my family for the fourth of July, and they were gone almost as soon as they came ot of the oven! they were so delicious I was begged to make more! Now my family keeps asking when I'm going to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These cookies were one of six different kinds that I recently made for my twin grandaughters high school graduation party. Needless to say, they were one of the first to disappear. Since I made them ahead of time, I put them in the freezer and they did very well. I didn't sprinkle the powdered sugar over them until they were ready to be served. I found the dough very easy to work with and I used the Solo apricot and cherry fillings. This recipe will definitely go in my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States