Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
These are the best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I've been making this for years. I have to make at least 4 -6 batches. It is best to do the dough and leave it in the fridge overnight. I found square cookie cutters on-line for those who measure them you can save time by buying square cookie cutters. I got them from the Chef's catalog probably 10 years ago. They are called Ateco Cutters #5253 6 piece set 1 3/8 to 2 5/8 inches. So maybe people can still get them. Chef's catalog no longer has them. But I am sure you might be able to find them on-line somewhere. I always use the Solo filling. I am going to try making the thumb print ones to see how they come out and roll out in powdered sugar like others have suggested. I am making them this weekend and will report back with doing it the thumbprint way and the regular way and using the powdered sugar. Those who didn't do good the first time try and make them again. They are so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Didn't like this recipe. Kids wouldn't eat it, either. Flavor was dull at best. The "flaky crust" was a disaster. Yep, it's a short, simple recipe...that falls very short of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Excellent. A classic. I like to use Solo pastry filling, but some preserves work just as good. A request every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blpulido

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I just made this recipe and the cookies turned out great. The kolaches I remember as a kid were the round ones that were more like sweet rolls, but a friend wanted this kind. I tripled the recipe so the ratio was one 8-ounce cream cheese, 3 sticks of butter (1 1/2 cups) and 3 cups of flour. I mixed the butter and cream cheese in my Kitchenaid mixer really well, added a tsp. of vanilla, and then added the flour and mixed on slow just until combined. I divided the dough up into four small disks and refrigerated for a couple of hours. It was easy to roll out the small amount quickly before it got too sticky. I rolled them out on a sheet of parchment paper dusted with powdered sugar and a little bit of regular sugar. Once they were cut I added the filling, then lifted each square off the paper using a long carving knife under two diagonal corners of the square so I could pinch the other corners together. I used Solo apricot and poppy seed and made my own cream cheese filling. All of them turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is the tastiest recipe ever! First time making them and they are so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfliesgrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe. Friends very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Didn't work at all :-( the pinched sides didn't stay together and the jelly I used ran all over the place. Flavor was nice - maybe I'll have to tweak it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States