Cream Cheese Frosting with Brown Butter and Bourbon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I made the banana cake recipe from my Southern Living cookbook (which has a smidge of bourbon in it) and was looking for a cream cheese frosting to pair with it. This was a perfect fit. I don't like my frosting too thick and this covered a three layer cake with the right thickness for my tastes (1/4 to 1/2 inch thick). If you love a really thick layer of frosting you might want to multiply the recipe accordingly. I bet it would even be good with a coconut cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! I paired this frosting with "Sam's Famous Carrot Cake" recipe and voila... the perfect match. If it's a little too sweet for your liking, apply less sugar or less frosting to your cake! Simply delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Superb frosting! I made it exactly as written, except I doubled the recipe. I used this on Sam's famous carrot cake from this site, and it was perfect. A silky, complex frosting, that was perfectly sweet. I made this cake and frosting for a wedding, and it was a huge hit! Thank you so much. For the pine person who reviewed this negatively, my guess is that you didn't brown the butter properly, as that can be tricky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is a very tasty frosting, but lacks the cream cheese flavor I was hoping for. Regardless of that - this frosting was very yummy in it's own right. I did not add the cream because the consistancy was fine without it. The color was beautiful and the vanilla bean added not only a fine taste but an interesting look with all the little vanilla specks! I doubled the bourbon which is probably why I didnt need the cream. Great frosting, but still looking for a cream cheese frosting that has a cream cheese taste. I WILL be using this recipe again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patuxent River, Maryland, USA
Living In: Taylor Mill, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this frosting for applesauce/spice cake and it was DELICIOUS. Even my husband loved it ... and he doesn't like frosting. I did end up adding an additional cup of confectionary sugar and I doubled the bourbon. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
It has a good flavor but I think I would make more browned butter to increase it's flavor a bit more. I was serving cake to children so I opted not to add the bourbon although I will try that another time. Definitely a keeper recipe, thank you metread! I used it on a banana cake recipe (from this site too) and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexMex Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Great recipe. I used Knob Creek and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
extremely sweet, has too strong of a bourbon flavor which took away from the brown butter. next time no bourbon more butter and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cristina E*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
i was so excited about this recipe after reading all the wonderful reviews but after going thru all the trouble of making it i was extremely disappointed. i followed the recipe exactly and it ended up tasting just like a bowl of sugar. no nutty flavor or bourbon taste at all. it was not worth all the hard work that went into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
this is the best frosting i've ever had. this was absolutely perfect on a carrot cake. be sure to watch the butter closely (and have extra) because it is easy to burn. Also i've made this with brandy and it is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States