Cream Cheese Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I give it a 5 star with these changes. I only used 1 - 8 oz. cream cheese, 1/4 c. butter, and 2 c. powdered sugar, 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla. It covered a 9 x 13 carrot cake perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7515 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Note: You need to know that this cream cheese frosting is for the person that wants a REAL cream cheese taste, as if they were eating actual cheesecake. This is not a sweet, sweet, sugary frosting. This is a cream cheese blessing! Not the kind you find in the container in the grocery store. This is homemade, amazingly delicious, cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4999 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Oh my goodness, this is a simple and yummy recipe and only took 15 minutes in my mixer. Make sure you start with room tempurature or softened butter and cream cheese. It will make your life a million times easier. I also followed the advice of the previous reviewers and added an extra 1 cup of sifted confectioners sugar because we like our frosting sweet. I also doubled the vanilla extract for a more intense flavor. I had no problems with the consistancy whatsoever. Since my husband likes the white frosting and I like chocolate, this batch made enough so I could divide it up into 2 separate batches. I just took out 1/2 of the batch and set it aside. Then I added 1/3 cup of pure cocoa powder (not hot chocolate mix) to the remaining batch and mixed it some more. We each frosted our own 1-layer 9" separate cakes and it was delicious both ways! If you only have 1 cake, you might want to reduce the recipe by half. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2081 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Great recipe! I used a slightly different method: beat softened cream cheese with vanilla until smooth, then add softened butter a little at time, beating until smooth. Finally, add powdered sugar to taste (I usually use less than called for). I found this method to give the best consistency. I've used this frosting on sam's carrot cake and pumpkin gingerbread (both from this site) with great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
869 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This recipe has both an unusually high proportion of cheese and low proportion of sugar (IMO). I like the resulting flavor, but it isn’t for everyone. For a less 'in your face' cheese flavor, I halve the cream cheese (8 oz instead of 16), add 1/4 cup of butter, and one more cup of powdered sugar. The final thickness tends to vary on several factors (brand/type/temperature of the cheese and butter) so I add milk/powdered-sugar to give me the 'spreadability' I want. I use this as a 'base' recipe for frosting many baked items, changing thickness and flavoring to suit my current use. It isn’t a decorator frosting for the real fancy stuff, but it isn’t meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
858 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
This frosting could be eaten by the spoonful. Thought it was a tiny bit too tangy, so I used 3 cups of powdered sugar instead of 2. I used it to top a carrot cake, and everyone wanted the recipe. I truly don't see how you can go wrong with this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
642 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
It was the lesser amount of butter and sugar that made me curious to try this recipe over what I've been making since forever. I don't know how this would have held up on a layer cake as it would definitely need to be firmed up in the refrigerator first, but let me tell you, it was awesome on the carrot bars I made today, and would be great on any sheet-type cake. Just lightly sweet and perfectly cream cheesy. Each recipe has its place, and I will make this again for any kind of bar or sheet cake needing a cream cheese frosting. Thanks for sharing your recipe Janni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
405 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This was delicious!!!! I cut the recipe in half and it came out perfect. Also everytime I make homemade frosting, I always add a 1/2 cup of cool whip, it makes it so much fluffier, and yummy. It was awesome with this recipe, you should give it a try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This frosting is EXCELLENT! It makes enough to frost two 9" cakes, sides and all! The flavour is delicious and the consistency is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Perfect frosting - exactly what I was looking for! I used this on a bundt carrot cake from a box, and it really made it special. I sieved the confectioners sugar to avoid lumps, and added it slowly, tasting at intervals until I was happy with the sweetness. I also used kahlua (about 3 teaspoons) to flavor, which is sweet, so I cut back on the amount of sugar used. I frosted all sides of the bundt cake and have plenty left over - my boyfriend was eating the icing with a spoon! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States