Cream Cheese Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Maybe it's just because I'm a guy, but I don't understand the need for these oddball measurements. Who measures cream cheese by the tablespoon? or butter by thirds. Here's my simplified ingredients list: 4 oz. (1/2 pkg) cream cheese 4 oz. (1 stick) butter 2 cups confectioners sugar 1 tablespoon cream 1 teaspoon vanilla More or less to taste or to adjust consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
581 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I made the following adjustments in response to other reviewers: 8 oz cream cheese 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla 1/2 C butter 3 C powdered sugar NO cream I whipped this all together with an electric mixer and it was great. Not too sweet, not to cream cheese intense. You'll want to lick this bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buzzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
A number of reviewers have changed the measurements of ingredients in this recipe to the point where it isn't even this recipe anymore. Only because I wanted to pipe this frosting on cupcakes did I eliminate the cream, leaving all else the same. While I do have my favorite recipes, I'm always game to try variations. Unfortunately, this recipe will not take over others I've tried. It was not firm enough to pipe even after a half hour of refrigeration--the point being that even if you intend to just simply frost the cake I would still do so without the cream called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I made this to decorate a cake for a bridal shower. It was a bit soft for intricate designs, but did well for my purposes. I was using larger tips. The taste was wonderful. I doubled the recipe and had a sandwich bag size left over. I imagine you could firm it up with more powdered sugar and be able to pipe more difficult shapes. The taste of this is so much better than icing made from shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
The only change I made was to use the whole package of cream cheese-8 oz- and a 1/4 cup less powdered sugar because I like the cream cheese flavor..Excellent recipe!! Also, omit the vanilla and add 2t maple flavoring if you want something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I made several changes. I used 1 stick butter and 1 cup whipped cream cheese. I originally started with 1/2 c cream cheese, but I could hardly taste any cream cheese flavor, so I put in the rest of the container. Also, I only put in 2/3 cup of powdered sugar, and even my husband thought it was plenty sweet enough (and he loves sugary sweet frostings). I also didn't use any cream, as I did not have any on hand. Still, a good basic recipe to work from! Very creamy and easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
so easy and delicious!! my fave is in on dark chocolate or carrot cake, and a few drops of food coloring is great for cupcakes and holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I must say I haven't met a cream cheese frosting I haven't liked. I piped it onto the flag cake and what a showstopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and had enough to frost a jelly roll pan of banana bars. Excellent frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was a great tasting frosting that was quick and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly, however I found that the finished product was very runny. I used it to top pumpkin muffins and on the first couple it ran all down the sides. I added almost twice the amount of confectioners sugar as was stated in the recipe and eventually ended up with a nice thick, sticky frosting. I will definately use this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States