Cream Cheese Filled Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
So delicious! Definitely a new favorite recipe I plan to make many times a year!!! I made a few modifications based on some other reviews and some of my own. I substituted the vege oil for natural applesauce, I used 3/4 cup (lightly packed) brown sugar I substituted baking soda for 1.5 tsps of baking powder, I also have a gluten allergy and used brown rice flour. For the cream cheese filling I used 8 ozs(I wanted more than a tsp of cream cheese filling), I sweetened it with 2 tsps of confectioners sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I filled regular size muffin cups a little less than half way, then I added the cream cheese, I then added more pumpkin mixture on top until muffin cup was filled. I opted to use crushed pecans, brown sugar (btwn 1/4-1/3 cup of each) and butter (about 1 tbsp, melted))mixed together with my fingers for my topping. Mine only took about 18 minutes to bake. I got 14 muffins out of the mixture.The minute they can out of the oven both my husband and I enjoyed one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carmen Christie-Bill
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I subbed homemade apple sauce for oil, took out half sugar and added a bit of almond milk...turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Excellent! All my grandchildren loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Fantastic recipe - Thank you for sharing!! I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil as I gave up vegetable oil a couple of years ago. Also my spice cabinet isn't very extensive so replaced the following with 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice: 1/4 tsp ground cloves 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice 1/4 tsp ground cardamom 1/2 tsp ground ginger My boyfriend doesn't like sweets as a rule and he LOVED them! The spices tasted great and my whole house smelled amazing while they were cooking and for hours after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I used coconut oil for the muffins and added some powdered sugar to the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I made these muffins because of the dark brown sugar and spice combination. The spices were great and the muffins super moist. However, I was confused by the use of baking soda and no baking powder. Baking soda requires an acid in the recipe to work properly and I didn't see an acid listed in these ingredients-so I used 3/4 teaspoon of baking powder (more is required because the leavening power of baking soda is much greater than baking powder)and added 1/4 teaspoon baking soda. I increased the cream cheese to about 6 tablespoons, adding 3 tablespoons powdered sugar and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I then put a very thin layer of batter into my muffin cups, added a dollop of the cream cheese, and covered with the rest of the batter-the filling stayed in the middle of the muffins this way. Finally, I added a streusel topping as others have suggested made with 1/3 cup brown sugar, 2 tablespoons flour, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1 tablespoon butter because I wanted to add some more sweetness. I left off the sunflower seeds. The topping MADE the muffins and was definitely my favorite part. This produced 15, not 12, beautiful muffins, and, as I have found with all pumpkin bread recipes, the flavor improves the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Truly outstanding--a huge hit with everyone. Except for the cardamom, which I didn't have and didn't want to spend $ on, I followed recipe exactly. It was perfectly spiced without it. Tips: 1. I knew before I read the reviews that the cream cheese needed doctoring. I added 1/4 cup powdered sugar and 1/2 tsp almond extra as others suggested. Superb. 2. The muffin texture is lovely with moisture, but at first touch you can feel the oiliness--next time I will reduce the total oil by 2 tablespoons. 3. The streusel topping written up by TheBritishBaker (reviewer) gives a nice crispy texture to the top: 1/3 cup brown sugar; 2 tablespoons flour; 1/8 tsp cinnamon; 1 tablespoon butter. I put it in a food processor. Quick and perfectly blended, then just sprinkle over top before baking. Makes the muffins pretty too. 4. Can't remember who suggested it, but the notion of rolling the cream cheese/sugar/extract into a slender log and freezing it 30 mins works very well. I cut the log into 12 identical blobs and quickly rolled them into little balls (the powdered sugar makes this possible). I pressed a little ball into the half-filled muffin cup, giving it a tiny shove to push it down a bit, then covered it with more muffin batter. This method turned out 12 identical muffins, generously sized, and the cream cheese center was beautifully round shaped and perfectly centered. I used standard muffin cups, not the really big or really small ones. This is definitely a keeper. We love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Loved it but found it made 16-18 reg sized muffins! I tried without flavouring the cream cheese and it was much better with the added icing/powdered sugar. Melted cream cheese, added 2-3 tbsp icing sugar and mixed - tasted more like icing vs cream cheese... Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I entered these in a local (for fun) muffin baking contest and won 1st place. My husband said these are the best thing I ever baked and I bake a lot. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
So delightful! I made my filling more like a cream cheese frosting- half cream cheese, half butter, about 4 tbs of sugar (I didn't have powdered at the moment, but granulated was fine) and a sprinkle each of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, allspice. I feel like this is more like the recipe a certain coffee shop uses, their cream cheese filling is definitely flavored. I filled each muffin cup about 1/3 of the way, then added the cream cheese frosting (it was runny) and then topped off with more muffin batter. The cream cheese baked in and had a good, cake-like texture (not runny or gummy). I also added a bit more baking soda, as the recipe just seemed a little short of leavening to me. They turned out absolutely delicious! The muffins themselves are not super sweet, which is perfect (it's a muffin, not a cupcake!) and made the flavored cream cheese/frosting filling a nice sweet surprise in the center. A great recipe, and very seasonal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States