Cream Cheese Cut-Outs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This is the best cookie dough I have ever worked with. I own a gourmet shop and made Valentine's cookies to sell, they were fabulous! Make sure you properly chill the dough before working with it. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This was "ok". One of only two, 5 star recipes, I wasn't happy with. It's not as flaky and light as I like my cookies. I have one my cousin gave me that calls for 2 sticks of butter and it's much lighter and tastier. I tried this one because everyone commented on how easy it was to work with. It is easy but the flavor is more important to me that the texture of the dough. My family is used to tasting the cream cheese and it wasn't there with these cookies. I'll try to post Lynda's Cream Cheese cookies in case anyone is interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
I loved this recipe! I looked at the reviews first, so I added 1/2 tsp salt and 1/8 tsp nutmeg to the recipe and they added so much flavor! the cookies really held their shape and everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This was by far the easiest dough that I've worked with and the cookies were great. I took them to two different functions in one day and everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
These are such good cookies! I've been making this recipe for years, they are REALLY good...my variation: sandwich two cookies together with raspberry jam, and roll in powdered sugar. Hmmm...thought I had some cream cheese in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
These were great! I put them in the refrigerator for an hour and they were way to sticky, so I ended up leaving them for about 3-4 hours and they were perfect. I did split up the dough into 4 pieces and when I rolled them I had the counter covered in a mixture of powdered sugar and flour (they say that will keep your cookies from getting to tough). The only problem, if you can call it a problem is that the tops got bubbly and I frosted them anyway and so there was no big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This dough was easier to work with when I divided it into smaller pieces (4 sections instead of 2) and, as others noted, refridgerated it until well chilled (4-6 hours.) I worked with only one small portion at a time, used a generous dusting of flour on both the countertop and top of the dough, and also used only small cookie cutters. I ended up with nearly 70 delicious heart and star shaped cookies and had very little trouble with sticky dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I tried this cream cheese version of the traditional sugar cookie and I it received "WOWs" from my co-workers. Then I made them again for my family and I think they'll now expect me to make these all the time. Great recipe! Just be sure to use a LOT of flour when rolling them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Wonderful! I used this recipe for Christmas cut-outs. Extremely moist and soft. I frosted and froze them and they were still great. I had NO TROUBLE with sticky dough. You will need a floured surface each time you roll out the dough and flour the rolling pin too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These worked wonderfully for me! I always used another cut-out recipe but decided to try something new. I saved this recipe when Christina's fabulous Easter cookie pictures popped up. I followed the recipe to a "T" and refrigerated my dough overnight. It was a breeze to work with and the cookies kept their shape very well. I will definitely be using this recipe in the future :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States