Cream Cheese Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
WOW! This was the easiest pie crust I've ever made. I read reviews of people adding sugar & salt. It really doesn't need anything other than what the recipe calls for. It's delicious as is. Very, very tasty crust. Nice cream cheese flavor. I did refrigerate the pie (I made a blueberry crumb pie) for 1 hour before baking to insure that the crust would be flakey which it was. I was tempted to pat it into the pie plate as one other reviewer suggested, however this dough was so easy to work with that there was no need. Roll it out, lift it up & place it into the pie plate without any problem. This will definitely be my go to pie crust from now on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Best idea of my pie making life!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronique Cecilia Barretto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
You must add the 1/4 C sugar, 1/2 t salt and 1/4 t Baking Powder. This is such a lovely crust. When done correctly, it will half-way rise as a puff pastry. I added Pearl Sugar to the top. Beautiful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Super Fast and Simple, and the BEST crust! Skip rolling/chilling - just press out onto pie plate. My friends where RAVING MAD over my cherry pie which had this crust - they immediately noticed the terrific flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Well, you wouldn't get a better review if a 5 star New York restaurant rated this the best; my four year old picky eater pulled out the yummy pie filling and just ate the crust! Added the 1/4 sugar, tsp salt and 1/4 tsp of baking soda. I found that this crust as prepared cooked/browned more quickly then others and I would recommend skipping any pie recipe steps that say to bake at 425 for 15 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
L-O-V-E-D this crust! I refrigerated it for about 15 minutes before rolling it and even then it was VERY fragile. But it's quite easy to patch up holes or just push the crust into the dish... I added 1/4 cup powdered sugar (don't use reg. white sugar because it will turn out sticky) And even though I used salted butter I still added about 1/4 tsp. salt, and about 1/4 tsp of baking powder for a little extra rise! It came out perfect! MUCH better tasting than most other pie crust recipes!! This is my go to pie shell recipe from now on, thank you SO much Cathy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
My first pie ever and I was feeling a little adventureous and decided to make my own pie crust. This receipt is very easy to follow for us beginners. The only question I have is can I freeze this pie crust if I made to much? And if so how? Do I just put it in a zip lock bag or is there something special I need to do to freeze it and use it later in the week? Any suggestions would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made this recipe this weekend with strawberry cream cheese for a triple berry pie. It was really good. The pie crust almost "melts" in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was the first pie crust I made from scratch, and I definitely see myself making them from now on. It was super easy! I didn't even roll the dough, I just pushed it into the pie pan and crimped the edges like I do with the pre-made dough. Like another user suggested, I added 1/4 sugar, 1/2 tsp of salt, and 1/4 teaspoon baking powder. I'm not sure if the baking powder had any effect, as my dough stayed pretty dense (think shortbread) and not too flaky, but the sugar helped tremendously. The sweetness really went well with my homemade strawberry pie, and everyone raved about the combination. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellasequema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I love it! I have made it like 3 times this week, very very easy. I had some leftover when I made a pumpkin pie and I made little leaves on the top. For the pumpkin pie crust i added about a tablespoon of sugar. Then I made a quiche and it was perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIE3WISHZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States