Cream Cheese Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I HAVE BEEN MAKING THIS RECIPE FOR 50 YEARS LEARNING IT AT MY MOM'S KNEE. WE NEVER ROLL IT BUT RATHER PAT IT INTO THE PAN USING THE HEEL OF OUR PALM OR KNUCKLES. LEMON ZEST PERKS UP THE FLAVOR IN A PEACH OR BLUEBERRY PIE CRUST. AS A SINGLE PERSON I FREEZE ½ THE DOUGH AND MAKE A 7" CRUST WITH THE OTHER HALF WITH GREAT SUCCESS! LATER IN THE SEASON I MAKE ANOTHER PIE WITH THE LEFTOVER DOUGH. IT NEVER FAILS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This crust was amazing with my caramel pecan pie! After reading other reviews that noted a lack of taste, I added 1/4 c. sugar and 1/2 tsp. salt, as well as 1/4 tsp. baking powder to give it a little extra rise and flakiness. It turned out flaky and delicious and I will use it for all of my pies from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Wow! Who would have known that cream cheese would be so good in pie crust. I guess it's a given, as it's great in about anything. As to it having no flavor, we thought it had more flavor than traditional pie crust. I made this and used half whole wheat flour, then filled it with the Equal sweet potato pie found here.I took it to friends and they all raved a lot over this yummy pie the crust was superior and I just used the heel of my hand and pressed it in pan, then fluted the edges, it was so easy to shape, it looked very nice. I also added salt and shaved lemon peel. Thanks so much Cathy Tagle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This is a great recipe. I added a 1/4 c. of sugar and 1/2 tsp. of salt as suggested and it turned out wonderful. It tastes like a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I made this crust exactly as described but added 1/2 tsp salt. That helped draw out a bit of the butter flavor which a previous reviewer felt was lacking. The crust was a nice complement to the pecan filling I used for my pie. The crust was very easy to handle and had a nice texture when baked. I did not give it five stars because it was not quite as tender and flaky as some other pie crust recipes. However, the ease of preparation far outweighs this minor flaw and I will use this recipe often. Thank you, Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I love this recipe! I made some pasteries with this crust and it was supper. I will be making this for all my pies,pasteries and just for baking! You will not be sorry if you try this! To make the dough easier to work with put it in the freezer for about 15 to 20 minutes but don't let it get to hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was my 1st crust ever...extremely easy...and delicious. I added sugar, salt and baking powder as adviced by other reviewer and was excellent idea. NO NEED to add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Great pie crust recipe!!! The only thing I did different was add a bit of sugar into the mixture. But this was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This crust had great texture, but I had to add some ice water to make it form a nice ball. It rolled out great and it made a beautiful apple pie, however it had no flavor. Flaky and pretty, just no taste, so if you're looking for a no-flavor crust that won't take away from the good stuff you're filling it with, this is your crust, I howver like some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I liked this crust alot, it was very homemade look and taste, like a picture out of a magazine.. I made it for a pumpkin pie and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States