Cream Cheese Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Best idea of my pie making life!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronique Cecilia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
You must add the 1/4 C sugar, 1/2 t salt and 1/4 t Baking Powder. This is such a lovely crust. When done correctly, it will half-way rise as a puff pastry. I added Pearl Sugar to the top. Beautiful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Super Fast and Simple, and the BEST crust! Skip rolling/chilling - just press out onto pie plate. My friends where RAVING MAD over my cherry pie which had this crust - they immediately noticed the terrific flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Well, you wouldn't get a better review if a 5 star New York restaurant rated this the best; my four year old picky eater pulled out the yummy pie filling and just ate the crust! Added the 1/4 sugar, tsp salt and 1/4 tsp of baking soda. I found that this crust as prepared cooked/browned more quickly then others and I would recommend skipping any pie recipe steps that say to bake at 425 for 15 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
L-O-V-E-D this crust! I refrigerated it for about 15 minutes before rolling it and even then it was VERY fragile. But it's quite easy to patch up holes or just push the crust into the dish... I added 1/4 cup powdered sugar (don't use reg. white sugar because it will turn out sticky) And even though I used salted butter I still added about 1/4 tsp. salt, and about 1/4 tsp of baking powder for a little extra rise! It came out perfect! MUCH better tasting than most other pie crust recipes!! This is my go to pie shell recipe from now on, thank you SO much Cathy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
My first pie ever and I was feeling a little adventureous and decided to make my own pie crust. This receipt is very easy to follow for us beginners. The only question I have is can I freeze this pie crust if I made to much? And if so how? Do I just put it in a zip lock bag or is there something special I need to do to freeze it and use it later in the week? Any suggestions would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made this recipe this weekend with strawberry cream cheese for a triple berry pie. It was really good. The pie crust almost "melts" in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was the first pie crust I made from scratch, and I definitely see myself making them from now on. It was super easy! I didn't even roll the dough, I just pushed it into the pie pan and crimped the edges like I do with the pre-made dough. Like another user suggested, I added 1/4 sugar, 1/2 tsp of salt, and 1/4 teaspoon baking powder. I'm not sure if the baking powder had any effect, as my dough stayed pretty dense (think shortbread) and not too flaky, but the sugar helped tremendously. The sweetness really went well with my homemade strawberry pie, and everyone raved about the combination. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellasequema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I love it! I have made it like 3 times this week, very very easy. I had some leftover when I made a pumpkin pie and I made little leaves on the top. For the pumpkin pie crust i added about a tablespoon of sugar. Then I made a quiche and it was perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIE3WISHZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
this was really good! i used salted sweet cream butter, and added 1/3 C brown sugar. i cut through the ingredients and just dumped everything in the pie pan. then i pressed it into the pan with my hands. next time, i will grease and flour before i press in the crust, so to prevent the crust sticking to the pan. very good nevertheless. i will be using this recipe for pie crusts from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Yam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States