Cream Cheese Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
WHOA!!!!!! huge typ-o!! Thats reflected in the 3 star rating. I have been making cream cheese cookies for years and it should be 8 OUNCES of cream cheese, not 3!!!! I can only imagine why people thought they tasted like flour, look at the recipe's stated proportion of flour to cream cheese! 3 oz. cream cheese for 2 1/2 cups flour? YIKES. I made this recipe with 8 oz. cream cheese and cut back the flour to 2 cups, and still think I could cut the flour back some more. They don't taste too rich with the 8 oz,. trust me, it will taste the way its supposed to...like a CREAM CHEESE COOKIE and not a flour cookie! For half my batch I pressed a fork into the cookies and sprinkled green sugar crystals on them, the other half I made thumbprints and filled with blackberry and apricot preserves. Yummy. Food coloring also works great with these cookies, especially if using a press!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
615 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I think these cookies taste much better and lighter after the first day. The night I baked them, they tasted mostly like flour. Perhaps a smidge more of cream cheese, a cherry on top, or a sprinkle of colored sugar might do the trick... I'm not sure. These cookies also turned out dense because I did not have a cookie press available. In lieu, I rolled the dough into little balls and flattened them a bit. These cookies hold their consistency extremely well and do not spread, so I recommend the cookie press if you're concerned about presentation. Without the cookie press, they look very plain and unappetizing. Also dropping them by spoonfuls, makes them look more like miniature biscuits than cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Five stars if you prepare this recipe my way -- which is to say that you use 4 oz. of cream cheese, not the suggested 3 oz. (Four stars if you use less than 4 oz. of cream cheese. If you use more than four, the cream cheese could make it too rich.) Also, pecan halves on top are what make these cookies especially dreamy. Make sure you put the pecans on before the cookies go in the oven -- so that they get nice and roasty-crunchy. Also, I found that I had to cook these cookies a little longer than 15 minutes. Depends on your oven, I guess. Also, I do recommend chilling the dough for at least an hour. I pinched off dough and rolled it into small balls then pressed pecans and candied cherry halves (red and green) onto each before baking. It made about 4 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
These cookies are okay. When you try these cookies, don't think that they are going to taste just like cheesecake. They do have a nice cheesecake-like texture, but they taste more like flour than cheesecake. I made these cookies with a cookie press and only baked them for 10 minutes. I didn't add anything to them, but they would probably be great with chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Very good Robin! I rolled these into balls, made an indentation with a wine bottle cork and filled them with raspberry preserves. So pretty and festive looking too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I personally didn't care much for them but my family thought they were great.(And they are very picky.) I had to flatten them with a spoon because they wouldn't spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I followed some of the others reviews and added some lemon juice for more of a "cheesecake" flavor. I baked them on my stone, instead of a cookie sheet. They turned out "ok", kinda buttery instead of a cheesecake flavor. I liked the dough better before baking though!! I will make these again, and use a cookie press next time! This is def a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYBOLTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I have got many wonderful recipes from this site, however this is not one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Thanks to the others for the reviews; it really helped make this cookie recipe delicious. I used 2 1/4 cups flour & used an 8oz pkg of light cream cheese & the taste was wonderful. They were soft and light; perfect with hot chocolate. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I added some chocolate chips as an experiment, and they were wonderful! Very easy cookie and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States