Cream Cheese Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Very tasty! I used red potatoes and left the skins on instead of peeling them. I did need to cook the cabbage and onions longer than stated to soften them. I added a bit more salt and pepper, as well. This was a very satisfying side dish for our St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Made tonight to go with corned beef. Very good. i did not have cream cheese so used a mix of sour cream and plain yogurt...healthier and still delicious. You do need to add a healthy amount of salt for flavor but turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
It was good. I too didn't have cream cheese so I used a generous amount of sour cream and that worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
A real crowd pleaser! Don't tell them it has cabbage in it, and they'll never know. I used leeks instead of onions and like the extra color for St. Patrick's Day. I will be serving this instead of mashed potatoes from now on since it is much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
These were so good. Only thing is I blended 1/2 of the cabbage/onion mixture so my husband and 3 year old would not get scared from the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I think I prefer this over mashed potatoes. It has to be less calories ,less carbs and wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is scrumptious. I made this just for my husband and myself and at the end of the meal there wasn't enough left for lunch the following day. We love all the ingredients in this dish and combined they were magnifique! Thank you for this lovely recipe. I do believe you could pair it with any meat. We ate it with the chicken with caper sauce from allrecipes. For most, not a good combination, for us, quite heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Readfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Fabulous! What a great use of cabbage, and a wonderful alternative to mashed potatoes. We made this as a side dish for grilled salmon, and it was an amazing meal. One note: we did have to bake the colcannon longer than recommended, because the top didn't brown in 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is so easy and super delicious. Cooked it for Christmas dinner,huge hit with adults and all the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was absolutely fabulous! My Irish grandmother used to make colcannon and it really brought back great memories to eat this comforting dish. It did need a hefty dose of salt and I found that mine needed about 45 minutes in the oven to brown properly. Aside from those two little tweaks, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States