Cream Cheese Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Loved it! Mashed potatoes and cabbage go so well together in many different dishes, and it works great in this one. The little bit of cream cheese just gives it a nice, creamy texture. Served this with 'Braised Corned Beef Brisket' 'Buttermilk Slaw' and 'Irresistible Irish Soda Bread' all AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
We thought that this dish would be really good, but we were not keen on it. It was rather bland-tasting, and I won't add 'a hefty dose of salt' to anything to add flavour. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is a wonderful side dish!!! I followed some of the previous suggestions and added extra salt and a longer bake time. It was amazing and my kids lived it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was absolutely fabulous! My Irish grandmother used to make colcannon and it really brought back great memories to eat this comforting dish. It did need a hefty dose of salt and I found that mine needed about 45 minutes in the oven to brown properly. Aside from those two little tweaks, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is so easy and super delicious. Cooked it for Christmas dinner,huge hit with adults and all the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Fabulous! What a great use of cabbage, and a wonderful alternative to mashed potatoes. We made this as a side dish for grilled salmon, and it was an amazing meal. One note: we did have to bake the colcannon longer than recommended, because the top didn't brown in 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is scrumptious. I made this just for my husband and myself and at the end of the meal there wasn't enough left for lunch the following day. We love all the ingredients in this dish and combined they were magnifique! Thank you for this lovely recipe. I do believe you could pair it with any meat. We ate it with the chicken with caper sauce from allrecipes. For most, not a good combination, for us, quite heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Readfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I think I prefer this over mashed potatoes. It has to be less calories ,less carbs and wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
These were so good. Only thing is I blended 1/2 of the cabbage/onion mixture so my husband and 3 year old would not get scared from the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
A real crowd pleaser! Don't tell them it has cabbage in it, and they'll never know. I used leeks instead of onions and like the extra color for St. Patrick's Day. I will be serving this instead of mashed potatoes from now on since it is much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States