Cream Cheese Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I fixed this for work and was it a smash hit .. All my co-workers loved it .I will make this again real soon for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycooker67

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
YUMMY!!! I did, however, make a couple changes. For the filling, I used a full 8 oz brick of Neufchatel - mixed up with vanilla, 2 big globbers of butter, and kept pouring in the powdered sugar until it reached my preferred sweetness. Added a big of cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. And, omitted the nuts - but kept the cinnamon sugar (even dusted the pan with cinnamon sugar, instead of flour). **Make sure you do not spread filling all the way to the edges, it does seep out if you go all the way!** Next time I make this - and it will be made again - I will add a bit of oil to the batter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Deeeeeelicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was better cold as my family didn't like the cream cheese soft and gooey. Also I used a tube pan and poured the topping in the bottom after the pan was greased. When the cake was turned out the sugar and nuts formed a yummy crunchy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
As of right now this cake has left the building in my families stomachs. It was awsome. the texture was great and it was also moist. I followed everyones suggestion and used 8 oz of cream cheese and it was actually perfect. Also I used juice from a freshly cut orange instead of lemon juice and the filling tasted even sweeter. It was definitely better than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
The only change I made to this recipe was I omitted the lemon and used vanilla extract instead. It was excellent! My only "mistake" was that I baked it in a bundt pan, so when I inverted it onto the serving platter, the crumb topping became a nice bottom crust instead!! To make it look pretty, I drizzled a confectioners sugar glaze over the top. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is very good. Next time I will double the cheese filling. This cake freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Per reviewers' suggestions, I eliminated the lemon altogether. I used an 8 oz brick of cream cheese with about 5 tablespoons of confectioner's sugar. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I placed the strudel on top of the cream cheese layer and came out with a very tasty cream cheese filled cake. It is somewhat dense and not overly sweet. The cream cheese filling stays very creamy even hours after the cake has cooled. Nice surprise for your tastebuds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I reduced the lemon to 1 teaspoon and made 12 large muffins. A little hard to get out of the muffin tin because of the soft middle, but very tasty. Went quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
The first time I made this the filling was sour. So, I changed the filling to an 8oz. cream cheese, cut the lemon juice to a teaspoon and added 1/2 tsp vanilla. I have had many, many requests for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States