Cream Cheese Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Tasty cake as written, but too much lemon juice makes the filling a bit too tart. Will follow the suggestions to use vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made this for the family & everyone really liked it. I added more fresh lemon juice than it called for & tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEFF1953
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made 2 mistakes and it was wonderful. Didn't read recipe all the way through and left out the topping. Went to the store and from memory bought cream cheese remembering that it called for 2 (3oz. not 2-8oz) so I had cream cheese mix left over. I made a simple drizzle icing out of leftovers and added the nuts to the top. It was still very good. This is a KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is a nice average coffee cake. I agree with other reviews that the cream cheese layer was a little more tart that we would have preferred so if I were to make it again I would add additional confectioners’ sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
The first time I found this recipe was in a 1989 Treasury of Christmas recipe cookbook, though the recipe differs from this one in that it calls for 2 tablespoons of confectioner's sugar instead of 3 as listed on Allrecipes. The only other alteration is more nuts in the cinnamon-nut topping, which I would never argue with. :-) A delicious cake with a wonderful creamy center, a great choice for morning guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WUVIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hulbert, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great! Moist. The cream cheese adds cake like taste. I used full 8oz pack of cheese and reduced Lemon juice to 1 tbsp. I think I would add more lemon juice or zest and some raisins next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Girl next door
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Tasty cake, took a little bit longer to cook. Like several reviews stated, filling is too tart. I like tart, but definitely needs more sugar, less lemon or both... Give it a try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl next door

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I made this. reduce lemon juice to 1tblsp, used the 8oz cream cheese and 4-5 tabls sugar and a couple cap fuls of vanilla, had to compensate when i used the 2 tbls of lemon juice . put nuts in bottom i used brown sugar and it kinda stuck a littlwe and the cake caved when i turned it out which is was my error needed maybe 2-3 more minutes but my oven is wierd also.and a new used one i got for 40$the desighners were idiots becuase the grates on stove are slanted and offer only a centered flat dspot and then slant away so off center pans slip off .the designers were failrly reduced in basicdesign standards and mandatory grate features. like level.but hey 40 and i needed it. i either undercookd it or ? it was good though, ver y good taste.I am beginning to make another one right now.tah yahhad to substitute oz craem mit 1tblslemon juice dis time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Fantastic! My family loved it. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I have made this cake twice and must say it is delicious. I used 8 oz creme cheese, 1/4 cup sugar 1 egg dash of lemon juice and 1 table spoon flour for the filling. I tinted my filling pink. Very pretty to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States