Cream Cheese Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I made this cake exactly as specified and baked it almost to time indicated. Although it looked beautiful and the cinnamon topping smelled wonderful, the cake was dry and the cream cheese filling just didn't make sense with the flavoring of the cake. The lemon also gave it a little too much tang for my taste. This just didn't work for me and was a big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Tasty cake as written, but too much lemon juice makes the filling a bit too tart. Will follow the suggestions to use vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made this for the family & everyone really liked it. I added more fresh lemon juice than it called for & tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEFF1953
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made 2 mistakes and it was wonderful. Didn't read recipe all the way through and left out the topping. Went to the store and from memory bought cream cheese remembering that it called for 2 (3oz. not 2-8oz) so I had cream cheese mix left over. I made a simple drizzle icing out of leftovers and added the nuts to the top. It was still very good. This is a KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is a nice average coffee cake. I agree with other reviews that the cream cheese layer was a little more tart that we would have preferred so if I were to make it again I would add additional confectioners’ sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
The first time I found this recipe was in a 1989 Treasury of Christmas recipe cookbook, though the recipe differs from this one in that it calls for 2 tablespoons of confectioner's sugar instead of 3 as listed on Allrecipes. The only other alteration is more nuts in the cinnamon-nut topping, which I would never argue with. :-) A delicious cake with a wonderful creamy center, a great choice for morning guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WUVIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hulbert, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great! Moist. The cream cheese adds cake like taste. I used full 8oz pack of cheese and reduced Lemon juice to 1 tbsp. I think I would add more lemon juice or zest and some raisins next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Girl next door
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Tasty cake, took a little bit longer to cook. Like several reviews stated, filling is too tart. I like tart, but definitely needs more sugar, less lemon or both... Give it a try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl next door

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Fantastic! My family loved it. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I have made this cake twice and must say it is delicious. I used 8 oz creme cheese, 1/4 cup sugar 1 egg dash of lemon juice and 1 table spoon flour for the filling. I tinted my filling pink. Very pretty to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States