Cream Cheese Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Excellent cookie! It's a lot of trouble, but I developed a system that seemed to work for me. I put the parcels of dough in the freezer for a while, then was able to better shape them into round rather than square logs. I kept them in the freezer for a while longer and rolled them in the colored sugar. That also helped to round them. I returned them to the freezer for a while longer, then just brought out enough to cut for one cookie sheet. They were easy to slice, pretty much retained their shape, and didn't stick to the knife blade. While one sheet was in the oven I prepared the next one, and by the time it was ready to go into the oven, the dough was soft enough that I could easily tweak the shape if necessary. I used chopped pecans on top, and they added a wonderful toasted nut flavor. I used purchased colored sugar because I wanted the large crystals. One thing I noticed that no other reviewer seems to have mentioned is that the sugar caramelized a little and added an extra dimension of flavor and crunch. Definitely a good addition to any Christmas cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
These were delicious and they kept their shape well. Instead of circles, we shaped the logs into squares before we cut them. We already have enough round cookies. Also, they were much better when we are careful not to overbake them. They stay soft and delicious when they're only very lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
A costly cookie, but completely worth it! I have never made cream cheese cookies before, and I am so impressed by the moistness of this cookie. I added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar, and rolled the cookies in a mixture of crushed pecans and white sugar before cutting, and skipped the extra pecan ontop. I used parchment paper instead of foil in the oven aswell. I cut the cookies a bit wider, so I had a smaller yield, but these cookies were so moist and yummy, and cooked perfectly in 20 minutes! I will make these cookies again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccakw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These cookies are yummy! I didn't let them sit overnight or wrap them, I just dropped them onto a cookie sheet (after a few minutes in the freezer) and pushed the sprinkles down on the top of them. I thought they were prettier this way, I didn't have to wait til the next day to finish them and they tasted just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Very delicate flavor. I did the first batch with the colored sugars. I had a problem keeping them the perfect shape. I was really hoping for a round cookie...not oblong. For my second batch I put them in the freezer for about an hour and it helped a lot. I also did crushed candy canes mixed with regular sugar and rolled the logs in that. I liked the peppermint taste with the delicate cream cheese. Good recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I think these cookies are great. I appreciate the fact that they are not overly sweet. I did make a few changes. I did not add the chopped pecans and I doubled the vanilla extract. Instead of pecan halves on top, I used candied cherry halves. I put red cherries on the ones rolled in green sugar and green cherries on the ones rolled in red sugar. They look so cute and festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I love this recipe. These cookies are wonderful. Last year was the first for making them and I am about to make more. I put sprinkles on the outside and when I rolled dough flat and covered with sprinkles then rolled into rolls. Made the pinwheel effect. I also put m&m's in the center when they were cut!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These cookies are not only yummy, but very pretty! I love that you don't have to scoop them to make cookies. For some reason cutting logs is easier for me. It also allows me to make the dough and then bake when I want or need to. For putting the dough in the freezer - instead of foil I used waxed paper and dumped the dough in and loosely rolled it and then twisted up the sized to squeeze in the gaps. Kinda like taffy. This worked great and they came out almost perfectly round. I also found I only needed to bake these 12-13 minutes. You don't want to over bake them as they brown and aren't as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This is a great cookie recipe. The flavor is perfect. Not too sweet and I love the crunch that the nuts give it. They were easy to make too. They go perfect with a cup of coffee or cocoa. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This recipe tasted bland, like something was definitely missing. It took a lot of time and trouble and I was disappointed with the results. I recommend skipping the red and green sugar crystals. Dip the cookies in powdered sugar. They taste very similar to sandtarts, but were too bland without something like powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States