Cream Cheese Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I've been making these cookies for years since discovering it on allrecipes. These cookies are very good- tender and rich. My tips are to not refrigerate the dough at all and coat the logs in sugar right away. Then put the logs in the freezer for about an hour- this makes them easier to slice without them losing the round shape. I also skip the pecan on top because I could never get it to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I didn't use the nuts, but these still looked really cute, and since they were uniform in size they fit better into storage containers. My boyfriend loved them, I thought they were missing something... sugar? vanilla? salt? frosting? A little bland, but still a great Christmas recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Too subtle for my husband who is a cookie aficionado. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I love this recipe thanks so much. My christmas platter would not have been complete without them. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These cookies only got tastier and more complex with aging. I will definitely make them again for Christmas. No changes needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Beautiful, delicious cookies! I brought these to work and they were gone within minutes! Everyone thought I'd spent hours in the kitchen, but they were actually very easy - even my 4-year-old daughter helped with the sugar and pecans. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this cookies for the first time for my Cookie platter. Was looking for a different type of cookie... and I found it. They taste so good and have nice flavor. The sugar crystalizes on the cookie and gives it a nice little crunch but the middles are nice and soft. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Getting the cookie dough together wasn't difficult at all. I LOVE the smell of cream cheese/butter/sugar....I was leaning over the mixer like a happy idiot. Rolling the dough was a whole other matter. What a pain. I couldn't get mine all pretty so my cookies look all wonky. (Not the submitters fault, all mine.) I couldn't find green sprinkles, so I used a combination of red and white. It wasn't difficult at all to roll it in the sugar, I just used the bottom of my broil pan and rolled the dough back and forth until it was covered. They taste really great and the smell while baking, wow. They aren't the prettiest cookie I've made but again, that's not the submitters fault. I sure would like to know how you get the dough into a nice roll. I tried and tried, taking it out of the fridge while it was cooling. EDITED: I'd like to figure out how to get the nuts on the inside of the roll next time, instead of sprinkling on top. EDITED AGAIN: These do not need to be baked that long, just until they've puffed up and firmed up. Be careful, they'll scorch real easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I didn't bother with cutting, or adding the sprinkles, or chilling the dough over night. Instead, I added a lot of cocoa and made them into chocolate cheesecake type of cookies and dropped them on the tray. Turned out excellently!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burgermiester

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
They looked good and were easy to make but they were dry and no one ate them. That was disappointing. I will not make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States