Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Whereas this recipe would have passed for "healthier" 5 years ago, TransFat has been proven to be the unhealthy pseudo-fat that it is. Want healthy? Stick to the regular recipes, and downsize your intake! Don't use Margarine or regular shortening in your cooking! These cookies were flavorless, and my Mother won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I used butter instead of margerine and I doubled the chips called for. Because I wanted a less cakey cooky, I used baking SODA instead of powder. I agree with another reviewer that the uncooked dough was really fantastic but when you cook it, it dosen't taste as good. Sounds bizarre but it's true. This makes a ton, way more than 12 servings, unless each person has four or five cookies. 375* for ten minutes was just right. This would be GREAT with white chocolate chips and craisins. NOTE: I did use fat free cream cheese but I think that was kind of like putting the cart before the horse, if you really think about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
These are awesome. Really rich and tasty. I'm glad I went to the store to get milk chocolate chips, though; semi-sweet would probably not have been as good. I flattened them a little before baking, and yes they do hold their exact shape! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
These cookies were a hit at my party! Though after i realized I forgot to add the brown sugar!!! But they still tasted GOOD! Without the brown sugar it tasted like cream cheese short bread cookies! they melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
The dough was really delicious but once baked, these cookies weren't that good. In fact, I would almost say they were gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I have ALWAYS used the traditional Nestle Toll House cookie recipe, until now. This was proclaimed "Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever" by Hubby. A note: these are cakey cookiea, so if you're in the mood for traditional cookies, don't make these. They bake up high and are lighter in color. That said, these are wonderful and I will definitely make them often! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
These cookies are okay. They are EXTREMELY cakey. Cake like in the middle and crunchy on the outer rims. I followed the recipe 100% and couldn't really taste the cream cheese. They don't spread either, so I ended up with many little mountains! I think these might be better off called "cream cheese chocolate chip bars"! Thanks for the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Very good chocolate chip cookie recipe! I used fat-free cream cheese, sugar free Hershey's chocolate chips, Splenda instead of white sugar, and margarine instead of butter; substitutions worked great! One note: they bake in whatever shape they're placed on the sheet, so if you want them rounder, pre-shape them a little before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juststardust
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I made these for my Christmas baskets last year and they were a hit! I used real butter instead of margarine. You are not supposed to taste the cream cheese, it just makes them more fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I used real butter, and white chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet and these cookies were FANTASTIC!! Only had to bake it my oven 13 minutes and I did flatten the dough somewhat but these cookies did spread on their own as well. Easy to make and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States