Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Amazingly good and so easy to make. Everyone loved it. Will deff keep making this. The best part is the ingredients are normally something u always have in the house so no need to go shoping to make a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariani1973

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This is one of my favorite dessert recipes! Every time I make them, people ask me for the recipe. Like other reviewers have said, they are very sweet, but that's the way I like them. If you don't, I would recommend cutting the sugar back by 1/3 or 1/2 and only using 1 cup of chocolate chips. Baking them at 300 for 50 minutes is definitely not enough time (and I've tried in 3 different ovens). I usually do 300 degrees for about 1 hour 10 minutes or 325 degrees for an hour. You can bake them a little longer for a firmer cream cheese topping (and a harder crust) or a little less for a gooier topping. In my experience, after cooling overnight, the cream cheese topping is firm enough to eat without a spoon/fork but is still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WaterlessCooker
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Taste good, a little gooey even after setting all night; hard to cut into even pieces. Added 2nd egg to crust, was more like crumbs...increased temp to 350°F and baked the entire 50 min. Not something I'd make often cause it's really rich...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I've been making these for several years now. They are my son's favorite. He asked for these for his last birthday instead of a cake. They are extremely rich. I agree that the sugar and chocolate chips can be cut back, and I also reduce the butter in the crust. Cooking time is longer for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This recipe works very well as written. Because of personal tastes next time I will cut sugar back by a 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
this cream cheese chocolate chip bars recipe is very rich but Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I like the taste and blend of the crust ingredients. However, the topping was too thin and would not set after baking. I would suggest baking the crust/chocolate chips, p/nut butter chips first then after cooling add a cream cheese topping, maybe Cool Whip and cream cheese/sugar blended together. Maybe shave some chocolate on top for ganish or sprinkle w/mini-chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I did an ingredient search for a few items I had on hand and this recipe came up. I was shocked how much XXX sugar it asked for, so I used only 1/3 of a box when other reviews said it was so sweet. I also took their advice and used only half the chocolate chips. My only problem was I had no cake mix, so I used a packaged muffin mix, and it did fine. The cooking time and oven temp is not right, and I bumped it up to 325 like the others did. The consistancy is good and I had no problems with runniness. But would have liked a denser cream cheese -- this is a bit spongy. I am giving this only two stars because I had to change the recipe for it to come out right, on the advice of the other reviews. Taste is okay but nothing special-- won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I just made this for Easter. It was not a big hit. I hated the crust since I hate box cake mix. I had to bake it longer like the others said. Sorry it was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Really easy to make. I kept them in the fridge and every time that I cut a piece I would microwave for 25 seconds and top with a dollop (or two) of whipped cream. Alot of chocolate which was more than okay with me. No problem with the cream cheese being runny. Came out great. Finished last crumb in bed last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States