Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Couldn't eat it. I went for it. Tried the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
These were a huge hit at our holiday potluck. I baked for 60 mins at 300 and chilled overnight before cutting and they were perfectly cooked. They are very sweet and the sugar and chips could both be cut back. So many possibilities for flavor combinations between the cream cheese and the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This turned out terrible. I did everything exactly the way the recipe said. I cooked it for longer and the edges turned brown and cakey and the batter was liquid. Tried cooling it and nothing helped. ):
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Amazingly good and so easy to make. Everyone loved it. Will deff keep making this. The best part is the ingredients are normally something u always have in the house so no need to go shoping to make a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariani1973

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This is one of my favorite dessert recipes! Every time I make them, people ask me for the recipe. Like other reviewers have said, they are very sweet, but that's the way I like them. If you don't, I would recommend cutting the sugar back by 1/3 or 1/2 and only using 1 cup of chocolate chips. Baking them at 300 for 50 minutes is definitely not enough time (and I've tried in 3 different ovens). I usually do 300 degrees for about 1 hour 10 minutes or 325 degrees for an hour. You can bake them a little longer for a firmer cream cheese topping (and a harder crust) or a little less for a gooier topping. In my experience, after cooling overnight, the cream cheese topping is firm enough to eat without a spoon/fork but is still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan Walker
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Taste good, a little gooey even after setting all night; hard to cut into even pieces. Added 2nd egg to crust, was more like crumbs...increased temp to 350°F and baked the entire 50 min. Not something I'd make often cause it's really rich...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I've been making these for several years now. They are my son's favorite. He asked for these for his last birthday instead of a cake. They are extremely rich. I agree that the sugar and chocolate chips can be cut back, and I also reduce the butter in the crust. Cooking time is longer for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This recipe works very well as written. Because of personal tastes next time I will cut sugar back by a 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
this cream cheese chocolate chip bars recipe is very rich but Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I like the taste and blend of the crust ingredients. However, the topping was too thin and would not set after baking. I would suggest baking the crust/chocolate chips, p/nut butter chips first then after cooling add a cream cheese topping, maybe Cool Whip and cream cheese/sugar blended together. Maybe shave some chocolate on top for ganish or sprinkle w/mini-chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States