Cream Cheese Brownies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I followed this recipe to the letter...and the result was bland, pale-colored brownies. Neither the chocolate nor the cream cheese was enough to make any flavor impact. The brownies weren't very thick - baked more like a cake. Try adding more flour to the cream cheese mix - that was too runny. The reason this recipe achieved such a high rating is the changes reviewers made accidently. Using chocolate chips or dark chocolate greatly enhances the chocolate flavor and brings out the subtleties of the cream cheese. Use as dark of a chocolate you can find - the sugar will compensate for the bitter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I wanted a thicker cheese layer so I increased the cream cheese to 8 oz while keeping the same amounts of sugar, flour, egg and butter. And I just topped the brownie with the cream cheese layer without swirling. That came out very well. Overall the brownie was extremely good, gooey and not too sweet (our family is the "less sweet the better" type). It stores very well in an airtight container, still gooey and chewy after almost 18 days in the fridge (I have one tiny piece left as proof). Have also doubled the brownie layer with an 8 oz cream cheese layer, baked in a 10 inch springform pan for 40 mins. Have tried double the brownie layer and double the 8 oz cream cheese layer....doesn't work. Too much cheese but that was just my own opinion. One thing though .... it's terribly difficult to cut. Tried many ways with : damp/dry cold knife; damp/dry warm knife, a length of string, plastic knife, rubber spatula.... and sorry haven't found a no-mess way yet. P.S. I cheated .... I cut 1/4 cup of sugar from every quantity of the brownie part. Have also mixed white and brown sugars in varying parts with no noticeable difference in the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Over all, not a bad brownie, but not one to write home about either. I will try again with a different type of chocolate perhaps - and maybe adding some chocolate chips to the batter. I also had trouble getting the middle done without overbaking the sides, but can play with that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Followed many reviewers' advice to increase the amount of cream cheese and chocolate, and these came out great. Soft and moist cream cheese top and chewy fudge brownie base. I used normal semi-sweet chocolate and it turned out just fine. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Lower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were amazing!!!! I followed the recipe exactly except I used semi-sweet chocolate instead of german. I swear I bought it but could not find it when I went to bake. I will try it that way next time. They were moist and perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These brownies were okay. However, they were no better than a good boxed brownie mix, in my opinion. They were not worth the time and effort to make them from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
The funny thing about this recipe: The very first time I made it, I misread the directions (or just got ahead of myself) and mixed EVERYTHING together except the melted chocolate. I didnt read that I was suppose to swirl in the cream cheese mixture. So I just poured the choc. on the batter in the pan and swired it around a bit. ..They were delicious! I didnt keep them for very long at all! ...However, the second time I made them, I did it the right way, and I must say, they werent neary as good as they were the first time. I was kind of disappointed!...So, I will keep this recipe, but the next time I make them, I will prepare them the way I did the first time (by mixing the cream cheese and brownie mixture together, then swirling in the melted choc.) Theres something about the cream cheese mixed in the batter that gives it a REALLY nice texture and taste that you just dont get when its separated....They'll be great! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Mmmm, first time making brownies that actually worked! I did leave the nuts out cause I hate nuts and I didn't have them, and I used a 9 inch pan instead, had to cut down baking down by 10 minutes, other than that, it was perfect [oh yeah, increase the choc and cream cheese, yum]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I made these for the second time last night. The first time I doubled the recipe and got confused as to what step I was on and ended up adding way too much sugar to the cream cheese mixture! The brownies tasted okay but were not great. This time I was very careful to follow all of the steps exactly (still made a double batch) and was rewarded with fantastic brownies. These are a bit more difficult than regular chocolate brownies but well worth the time and effort. I will definitely use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
i love cream cheese, and i wanted to make somemthing easy and plentiful for church, unlike cheese cake which takes more work and more ingredients, THIS recipe is the best and you cant go wrong, everyone at church loved this,but dont just throw the ingredients together otherwise it me be dense, i also took advice from another reviewer who said she put chocolate with butter in the microwave, this was super fast and easy, and so YUMMY,,,,you can control how much chocolate you use, if you love choccy then add lots, if not, just add a few squares,you cant go wrong,,,,thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States