Cream Cheese Basil Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Yummy! I changed it a little...I drained the water from the squash after cooking it, then I mixed in half a can of Rotel tomatoes & gr. chiles, then put in the cream cheese, melted it for a little bit, then added shredded sharp cheddar. Wow. It is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I knew from looking at the ingredients this had the potential for a great recipe. I was right. It is delicious. I used two smaller crookneck squash, 4oz of cream cheese, garlic powder and fresh basil from the garden. I cooked the squash in the microwave 5 1/2 minutes, cubed the cheese over it and let it set about three minutes, sprinkled on a dash or two of garlic, put in some fresh basil to taste and salt. It was absolutely divine!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This recipe is awesome if you want a quick, satisfying side dish or an easy dish to serve at a party (just scale it up). I made it delicious and fairly healthy by sauteeing the squash and garlic for a few minutes in a small amount of butter, removing from heat and adding a good amount of chopped fresh basil and then adding 1-2 servings of reduced fat cream cheese before microwaving to melt the cheese. A small amount of cream cheese goes a long way and you can reduce the fat to 3-6 grams per serving with my modification. Fresh basil is essential for a "wow".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This recipe was wonderful! However, I sauteed the onion and garlic in a skillet, added the squash and used fresh minced basil instead of dried. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Awesome recipe! I couldn't stop eating it! I pan fried the squash and there was no liquid to drain off. I used fresh basil instead of dried, and only 1/2 a pkg of cream cheese and it was so very very yummy and so easy to do! This is the way I'll do my summer squash from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was very good! The only thing I do differently: I make it for one serving. I take two squash (about 6 oz) sprinkel with salt and basil, micro for about two minutes, DRAIN and stir in 1 tbsp fat free cream cheese. I eat this almost everyday as a snack in the afternoon. Excellent, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I used 4 cloves of garlic (we really love garlic in this house) and microwaved the squash as directed. I took the advise of some other reviewers and drained the cooked squash well after it was done. I added some sauted onions with the cheese, and only used half the amount of cheese. I also used Neufchatel instead of full-fat cream cheese, and fresh basil instead of dried. This was wonderful and my husband and I gobbled it up. I'm going to go and buy more squash so I can use up the rest of the cheese. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I love recipes that don't require measuring. You can easily tailor this recipe to whatever you have on hand. After the squash cooked for 5 minutes, I drained off the liquid, added some cubed cream cheese (about 3 oz.), fresh basil and shredded extra sharp cheddar. Then I microwaved it for another minute. Next time I will mix the basil with the squash before topping with the cheeses, and I'll add more garlic. Those garlicky bites were especially delicious! I might also try it with tomatoes or only tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Nice change of pace for my low-carb diet. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I buy a lot of yellow squash in an attempt to eat healthier and it always sits unused. This recipe has changed that. I made it and ate most of it in one afternoon! I cooked the squash in a pan with spray and used 1/3 fat cream cheese and half the amount. I also used fresh basil.It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States