Cream Cheese Basil Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
Sorry, but this recipe bombed. Cooked for only 6 minutes, squash was mushy which caused the entire dish to be watery & unedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
It was good but I don't think I'll make this again. I prefer squash to be more sweet (with brown sugar for example) and this recipe was more savoury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I knew from looking at the ingredients this had the potential for a great recipe. I was right. It is delicious. I used two smaller crookneck squash, 4oz of cream cheese, garlic powder and fresh basil from the garden. I cooked the squash in the microwave 5 1/2 minutes, cubed the cheese over it and let it set about three minutes, sprinkled on a dash or two of garlic, put in some fresh basil to taste and salt. It was absolutely divine!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Yummy! I changed it a little...I drained the water from the squash after cooking it, then I mixed in half a can of Rotel tomatoes & gr. chiles, then put in the cream cheese, melted it for a little bit, then added shredded sharp cheddar. Wow. It is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I love recipes that don't require measuring. You can easily tailor this recipe to whatever you have on hand. After the squash cooked for 5 minutes, I drained off the liquid, added some cubed cream cheese (about 3 oz.), fresh basil and shredded extra sharp cheddar. Then I microwaved it for another minute. Next time I will mix the basil with the squash before topping with the cheeses, and I'll add more garlic. Those garlicky bites were especially delicious! I might also try it with tomatoes or only tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Awesome recipe! I couldn't stop eating it! I pan fried the squash and there was no liquid to drain off. I used fresh basil instead of dried, and only 1/2 a pkg of cream cheese and it was so very very yummy and so easy to do! This is the way I'll do my summer squash from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
My kids loved it...I used fresh basil from my garden and drained some of the excess liquid off, very easy! Thank you Laurel,for a fast, delicious veggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
this was excellent, I did use fresh basil like some of the others and a little less cream cheese but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Delicious!! I used the whole block of cream cheese, but 1/2 would have been sufficient. The whole thing was a lot creamier and bad for me though!! Very tasty - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I buy a lot of yellow squash in an attempt to eat healthier and it always sits unused. This recipe has changed that. I made it and ate most of it in one afternoon! I cooked the squash in a pan with spray and used 1/3 fat cream cheese and half the amount. I also used fresh basil.It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States