Cream Cheese Basil Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
My husband and I loved this. We were a little nervous when we saw it, but it was sooo tasty. DELICIOUS!! I too used only 1/2 the cream cheese and pour out some of the excess water. I used dried basil (1/4-1/2 of what the recipe said) and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Fantastic. Followed the suggestions of sauteing instead of microwaving, half the cream cheese, and fresh basil and it turned out wonderful. Definately a good building block recipe to add other ingredients to. And the best part was how quick and easy this is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I wasn't totally impressed with the appearance of this recipe, but the taste was very impressive. Yes, I would use less cream cheese next time. I sauteed thinly sliced onion along with the squash and melted the cream cheese separately, smoothing it with chicken broth. I used dried basil in the squash saute, and fresh for the garnish. Oh.. added a splash of balsamic vinegar to the squash and onion mixture, too. A nice way to add some flavor to a bland vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I don't know if I did something wrong but this was just too bland for me. I think next time I will add even more basil and perhaps some red pepper, garlic, or even use garlic and onion cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This became a 5-star review for the following reasons.....we bumped up the garlic to 3 cloves and used an Italian Seasoning Salt. We also, as suggested by other reviewers, drained the liquid before adding cream cheese(to cut the calories, we used a 1/3 less fat cream cheese). This was incredibly easy and friggin' awesome; it will be something we will make again and again as both a side dish or a main dish on those simple late nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Awesome!! Took a bunch of suggestions and sauteed the squash and garlic(added extra) in butter, used 4oz cream cheese and fresh basil. My squash didn't give off much water, so I added a bit to make more of a sauce and it was great. Hubby loved it and tried to swipe mine from my plate! Thanks for a great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I didn't realize how well cream cheese went with squash!! I did halve the amount of cream cheese and it was perfect!! Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Oops. I missed the basil. Oh well, I'm not a huge basil fan anyways. I used what I had in the house, just a small bit of zucchini squash. I too decided to sautee the squash along with one clove of pressed garlic. Once it was sauteed, I added a small amount of cream cheese along with a tiny handful of shredded parmesan cheese and I added fresh ground sea salt and fresh ground pepper. This was pretty darn good! I had no idea that zucchini and cream cheese went so well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
My family didn't care for this recipe.It was bland. I cut back on the cream cheese as others recommended and used fresh basil but we weren't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very quick and easy to prepare. We liked it. Though, I will try it with less cream cheese next time and add Rotel tomatoes as someone recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States