Cream Cheese Basil Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I knew from looking at the ingredients this had the potential for a great recipe. I was right. It is delicious. I used two smaller crookneck squash, 4oz of cream cheese, garlic powder and fresh basil from the garden. I cooked the squash in the microwave 5 1/2 minutes, cubed the cheese over it and let it set about three minutes, sprinkled on a dash or two of garlic, put in some fresh basil to taste and salt. It was absolutely divine!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This recipe was wonderful! However, I sauteed the onion and garlic in a skillet, added the squash and used fresh minced basil instead of dried. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Yummy! I changed it a little...I drained the water from the squash after cooking it, then I mixed in half a can of Rotel tomatoes & gr. chiles, then put in the cream cheese, melted it for a little bit, then added shredded sharp cheddar. Wow. It is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was very good! The only thing I do differently: I make it for one serving. I take two squash (about 6 oz) sprinkel with salt and basil, micro for about two minutes, DRAIN and stir in 1 tbsp fat free cream cheese. I eat this almost everyday as a snack in the afternoon. Excellent, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I love recipes that don't require measuring. You can easily tailor this recipe to whatever you have on hand. After the squash cooked for 5 minutes, I drained off the liquid, added some cubed cream cheese (about 3 oz.), fresh basil and shredded extra sharp cheddar. Then I microwaved it for another minute. Next time I will mix the basil with the squash before topping with the cheeses, and I'll add more garlic. Those garlicky bites were especially delicious! I might also try it with tomatoes or only tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I buy a lot of yellow squash in an attempt to eat healthier and it always sits unused. This recipe has changed that. I made it and ate most of it in one afternoon! I cooked the squash in a pan with spray and used 1/3 fat cream cheese and half the amount. I also used fresh basil.It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Awesome recipe! I couldn't stop eating it! I pan fried the squash and there was no liquid to drain off. I used fresh basil instead of dried, and only 1/2 a pkg of cream cheese and it was so very very yummy and so easy to do! This is the way I'll do my summer squash from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
this was excellent, I did use fresh basil like some of the others and a little less cream cheese but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Delicious!! I used the whole block of cream cheese, but 1/2 would have been sufficient. The whole thing was a lot creamier and bad for me though!! Very tasty - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This is the easiest squash recipe ever! And it's delicious! What more could you want? Only change I make in the recipe is to take the suggestion from another reviewer and add one can or Rotel tomatoes for spice. I have even made it and frozen it for later. (We have lots of squash in the garden.) Will continue to make often! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States