Cream Cheese Basil Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I had to cook the squash for a longer time and it still was not soft but firm. The anti-veggie bunch I have still would not even try it. It was ok for me. I will have to try some other way of cooking squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I was skeptical even as I was putting this together, but it actually was very tasty. It doesn't look very pretty but my 1 year old really enjoyed it, and was a great way to get him to eat his squash. I used reduced fat garden vegetable cream cheese in place of regular and I think that gave it more flavor, also I added 1/2 a TB fresh basil in place of the dried. I also crumbled some whole wheat ritz crackers in with it for some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very easy & very tasty! I, too, sauteed in a skillet and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Wow!! Excellent recipe; best squash I've ever had. Even my picky 4 year old loved it! I did not microwave. Instead I pan fried 1 large squash, dried basil, 4 cloves garlic, (I also added minced onion, salt, and pepper.) I added cream cheese last. So fragrant while cooking and tasted just as great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gurley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Spoon this mixture into mini-phyllo cups, and top with shredded parmesan. Broil and voila: fancy, healthy appetizers for a party! I added fresh basil leaves and a bit of heavy cream instead of all of the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
very good and I only used half the amount of cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Used lowfat cream cheese and loved the ease of microwave cooking. Must use fresh basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
When I first made it I felt that it was a bit rich and my husband was not crazy for the cream cheese. So, I switched the cream cheese with sour cream (and only used maybe a 1/2 a cup) and I think it made it a little less rich. I also used a 1/3 cup of mozzarella cheese for a little flavor and it became a hit with the family. Next I'm trying it with fresh basil to see how it adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Quick and easy recipe. It's different but very good just like it is. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was pretty good, a little too cream cheesey for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States