Cream Cheese Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Wonderful except for the pan size. I used my cookie sheet and that wasn't deep enough BUT the part that ran over the edge and overcooked a little was the best part. I will definitely make again and will try it like another reader said....to make it with lemon cake and flavorings. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
The recipe, as is, is 3 stars. BUT with a couple minor changes it can be a 5-star winner!... Use a lemon cake mix. Add 1-2 tsp lemon extract and only 3 cups powder sugar....OH MY GOSH - it's fantastic! Next time, I'm going to try adding a layer of raspberry jam between the cake mix & the cream cheese - wish me luck~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Some raters recommended brown sugar, but I didn't like the beige color that the brown sugar gave to the cream cheese. Also, I needed to cook it at 300 for longer than 35 minutes to make sure the middle was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Excellent! I did make a minor change and used a french vanilla cake instead of yellow, and it turned out great. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
excellent. it is very sweet, but delicious. i used 3 cups of 10x sugar, 2 teaspoons of brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. best served COLD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I needed to make a quick dessert for a bunch of people at the last minute and everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Hmmm....I didn't think it was all that great. I wanted it to. I used white cake mix instead, that's all I had, and maybe that's the trick. I also used 1 cup less powdered sugar than it called for and it was still too sweet for my liking. I think though that it would taste better with a chocolate cake mix and less sugar, like a cream cheese brownie. To give it more variety, I think I'd add like strawberry jam swirled into the cream cheese, that might taste really good. But it is a very easy dessert, that certainly is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These are SINFUL! They're way too easy to make, and I get compliments from everyone who tries them. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
These are the absolutely best!!! Using a lemon cake mix, nobody can figure out why mine turn out so incredibly good & theirs don't. Thanks a million for the super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I love these gooey bars! I have a recipe very similar to this one. I got it from a co-worker after she brought some to a cook-out we had. I could not stop eating them. I add 1 tsp. of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture. It gives it a little something extra. All I can say is this is a little slice of heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fortville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States