Cream Cheese Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Wonderful except for the pan size. I used my cookie sheet and that wasn't deep enough BUT the part that ran over the edge and overcooked a little was the best part. I will definitely make again and will try it like another reader said....to make it with lemon cake and flavorings. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
The recipe, as is, is 3 stars. BUT with a couple minor changes it can be a 5-star winner!... Use a lemon cake mix. Add 1-2 tsp lemon extract and only 3 cups powder sugar....OH MY GOSH - it's fantastic! Next time, I'm going to try adding a layer of raspberry jam between the cake mix & the cream cheese - wish me luck~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Some raters recommended brown sugar, but I didn't like the beige color that the brown sugar gave to the cream cheese. Also, I needed to cook it at 300 for longer than 35 minutes to make sure the middle was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Excellent! I did make a minor change and used a french vanilla cake instead of yellow, and it turned out great. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
excellent. it is very sweet, but delicious. i used 3 cups of 10x sugar, 2 teaspoons of brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. best served COLD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I needed to make a quick dessert for a bunch of people at the last minute and everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Hmmm....I didn't think it was all that great. I wanted it to. I used white cake mix instead, that's all I had, and maybe that's the trick. I also used 1 cup less powdered sugar than it called for and it was still too sweet for my liking. I think though that it would taste better with a chocolate cake mix and less sugar, like a cream cheese brownie. To give it more variety, I think I'd add like strawberry jam swirled into the cream cheese, that might taste really good. But it is a very easy dessert, that certainly is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These are SINFUL! They're way too easy to make, and I get compliments from everyone who tries them. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
These are the absolutely best!!! Using a lemon cake mix, nobody can figure out why mine turn out so incredibly good & theirs don't. Thanks a million for the super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I love these gooey bars! I have a recipe very similar to this one. I got it from a co-worker after she brought some to a cook-out we had. I could not stop eating them. I add 1 tsp. of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture. It gives it a little something extra. All I can say is this is a little slice of heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fortville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States