Cream Cheese Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
it reminds me of Paula Deen's Oey Gooey Butter Cake. It is VERY sweet but VERY good. I didn't use the 3 1/2 sugar it called for, I only used 2 cups and a little more cream cheese, had I used the listed amount it may have been WAY too sweet. This is a good recipe and very quick to make. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
i was very disapointed, these bars didn't have any flavor to them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Everyone loves these! I do reduce the sugar to 2 1/2 cups, as 3 1/2 is way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
You’ll be sorry if you don’t make this for the next event you go too! I’ve been making this for years and I always have at least one person ask me for my recipe. I mix in 1 cup pecans with the cake layer (I use the yellow) and it makes cookie dough like mixture that I have a very hard time not eating! For the top layer I use a full box of 10x sugar but leave off about ¼ cup of the total volume so that there’s a small crust like exposure around the sides. This is a 5 yum on my yum-yum meter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Easy to make. Guest will think you spent hours!These bars are amazing (didn't last long in my house). I remembered the white chips too late but it didn't matter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
As is, all it tastes like is sugar. It wasn't good and it wasn't bad. Very boring. For me to eat so many calories, a recipe has to be delicious or it's not worth it to me. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is a 4-star recipe when the bars are warm, and a 5-star when they're cold. DEFINITELY serve these straight from the fridge! I like using lemon cake mix best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Easy recipe, but way to sweet for my liking. Even with modifications other users suggested, not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocolatekisses
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
EXTREMELY easy to make, but are in need of modifications. I made according to recipe...except for replacing 1/2 cup powder sugar (ran out) with brown sugar. I used a yellow cake mix. Based on the ingredients in recipe I give it 3 stars. I agree with other reviews...these are WAY to sweet and bland. I couldn't even really taste much of anything BUT sugar. Definitely take other suggestions and cut out 1 cup sugar or increase cream cheese. Bottom crust is nice, similar to a sugar cookie, buttery & chewy. I will use crust for other deserts. I refrigerated overnight and had no problem cutting. I thought they were plain & boring looking, so I put chocolate on top of a few to liven up the appearance. Baked according to temp and time suggested with no problems. You can tell they are done when the top layer doesn't jiggle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
These are rich and buttery, but as the recipe reads they turn out a little bland. If you want to get that cream cheese taste, you really need to cut down the powdered sugar and/or increase the cream cheese. I added about 2 c. powdered sugar and maybe an additional 1/3 of a block of cream cheese. Taste once mixed and see if it's to your liking - then you can adjust. Also, it helps to soften the cream cheese before mixing. Might be better with other flavors like lemon or chocolate cake mix as other have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States