Cream Cheese Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
These are so dreadfully delicious! We call them Interstate 45 bars (it's an old family recipe handed down by my grandmother). Instead of using all powdered sugar, I used 1 cup of powdered and 1 cup of packed brown sugar and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I also sifted a little powdered sugar on top after they came out of the oven. They are rich and sooo good with a tall glass of milk. Thanks for sharing Charlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This recipe is super!! I took some raspberries, crushed them and mixed with a small amount of the cheese mix. I then swirled this into the rest of the batter and my daughter (who loves raspberries) was crazy about these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I love these gooey bars! I have a recipe very similar to this one. I got it from a co-worker after she brought some to a cook-out we had. I could not stop eating them. I add 1 tsp. of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture. It gives it a little something extra. All I can say is this is a little slice of heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
These bars were so easy to make. They looked really dressy after I cut them into little squares and laid them in cupcake wrappers. The texture is soft and chewy and the sweetness is just right. Be sure to let them cool completely before trying to cut into squares, or else you'll have a sticky mess on your hands. I threw them in the fridge to cool and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Got this recipe from a coworker of mine years ago and LOVE them! You can also try adding pecans and or coconut to the cream cheese mixture. They also freeze very well. YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Tasted great~ I used chocolate cake and before adding the cream cheese mixture I added semi sweet chocolate chips and coconut over the cake mix. Everyone thought I bought them - they're fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This was a fabulous dessert. I put a layer of chocolate chips between the crust and cream cheese and it turned out great. My husband eats them for breakfast he loves them so much. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
excellent. it is very sweet, but delicious. i used 3 cups of 10x sugar, 2 teaspoons of brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. best served COLD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MandyBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These Cream Cheese Bar are always a fave everytime I make them!! You can never go wrong baking these for a party or get together. Everytime I amke them people think they are out of this world and they are so easy too! I changed it up recently and made it with red velvet cake instead of Yellow cake because I wanted them to look festive for x-mas. My friends who had it before liked the yellow cake better but they still ate them all up! For those who never had it they loved it! I also took out a cup of confectioners sugar because it really is toooo much sugar and believe me you won't notice if you take out a cup. I put a little vanilla instead. Like a teaspoon. You can't go wrong with this sweet treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Hmmm....I didn't think it was all that great. I wanted it to. I used white cake mix instead, that's all I had, and maybe that's the trick. I also used 1 cup less powdered sugar than it called for and it was still too sweet for my liking. I think though that it would taste better with a chocolate cake mix and less sugar, like a cream cheese brownie. To give it more variety, I think I'd add like strawberry jam swirled into the cream cheese, that might taste really good. But it is a very easy dessert, that certainly is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States