Cream Cheese Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
AWESOME and EASY! I used an 8oz. pkg. of sliced mushrooms, because that's all I had, which I sauteed in the 1/2 cup of butter (omitting the 2 tbsps.). Then I added in a clove of minced garlic (which I left in there). Once that was done, I added in the block of cream cheese and melted it in. I then added in the milk and combined until smooth. I added the parm to thicken and at the end, I added a box of frozen peas that I had cooked. Heated it all through and seasoned with pepper and a little dried basil (it's all I had)...YUM, YUM, YUM!!!! I served this over wagon wheel shaped pasta for something fun. I LOVED the ease of this recipe, and the outcome was nothing short of DELICIOUS! The beauty of this recipe is that it is so versatile and pretty much anything you like can be added. I will definately be making this often (I'm an alfredo addict, lol)! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years (given to me by a friend). I use Chicken or Shrimp instead of the mushrooms, or make it plain. However, I DO NOT use the butter at all. It does not need it and is still SO GOOD. That really cuts down the fat content and almost makes it a healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brackenridge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Yum! I pretty much followed the recipe, that was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Directions read: remove the (crushed) garlic? I sauted the garlic in the pan after the mushrooms were removed then added the rest of the ingredients. To change it up from time to time... you can add cooked chicken and fresh spinach at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I gave this 5 stars because it was EASY and DELICIOUS. I omitted mushrooms (don't care for them), but when the sauce was complete, I spooned it over rigatoni(I didn't have farfalle or linguine),chopped broiled chicken breast and steamed broccolli. Yes, it is a little rich, but worth the splurge! Plus, if you are calorie conscious, you shouldn't be trying this one, anyway? Some italian bread rolls finished it off perfectly! Thanks for the recipe! Will be making again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerodramamama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mabel
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is perfect for home cooked alfredo sauce! I cut down the butter amount to just 2tbsp. If your sauce ever turns out to be too think and you want to cut down on calories, try addding chicken stock instead of milk to thin it. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mabel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholeahn
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
It was good and easy!! I used garlic powder, dried basil and 1/2 of the butter and it turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was delicious! I used shredded Asiago, and it was awesome! I will make it next time with Parmesan just to compare, but I am sure it will be equally great. SO fast and easy! The best alfredo sauce I've made to date, and I've tried several on here. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
this just didn't have a good flavor; I think the cream cheese is just not a good ingredient to try to make an alfredo sauce. I made the recipe per measurements, except I used a bunch of mushrooms and doubled the garlic-- really the only good part of it. Ok to eat once-- never repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppywalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Delicious. Next time, I will add marinated grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States