Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is a rich, moist white cake with great flavor, perfect for decorating. I made a double recipe and baked it in two 9" layer pans. I thought the amount of salt was extraordinary, so I cut it back by half and was pleased with the results. I frosted it with Decorator Frosting I, also from this site. I reserved some of the frosting and folded in strawberry preserves for a strawberry buttercream filling. Delicious, beautiful, and elegant cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This recipe was fantastic. After reading the other reviews that said the cake was dense, I added a little extra baking powder. It turned out, light, airy, and full of creamy vanilla flavor. A definite make-again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I have a very similar recipe from my very very old (thrift store purchase) cookbook called the Settlement Cookbook (lots of really cool old and now unusual recipes) That recipe calls for 1 cup of sugar, cake flour instead of regular flour, and just a pinch of salt. Make those substitions and this cake is very light, moist, and just the right amount of sweetness. Also the bake time was 375 degrees for just 25 minutes (time was right on for my oven but check yours before 25 to be sure.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
The picture looks nothing like the cake I made. I made this cake for 40 servings. It came out in 3 10inch layers. I seperated the batter into 3 equal bowls and colored each layer a different color, pink, lavender, blue for my daughters 2nd birthday. I frosted with marshmellow frosting. Everyone loved the cake. It was perfectly moist and not too sweet. It had a very good homemade taste to it. My daughters loved it. I sell cakes from my home, and this is going to be my new birthday rainbow cake I will be offering to my customers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I followed the suggested changes to the indgredients, 1/4tsp more vanilla, 1/4tsp less salt, 1/4tsp more baking powder. I made 6 cakes, for 2 three-layered cakes. Worked great and tastes great too. I'm keeping this recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This cake is very good. It's simple and makes just the right size cake for a small family. I beat the eggs until peaks formed and I added a little more baking powder. It rose well and was very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I love recipes that have excellent flavor with few ingredients. I consider myself a connoisseur of great cakes, and as such I rarely find recipes on this site to try, since most of them start with "1 box white cake mix." I was thrilled to find an old-fashioned cake recipe like this! I made the cake as described with the exception of halving the salt since my husband's on a low sodium diet. I doubled the recipe for a 2-layer cake, and iced it with a vanilla buttercream frosting similar to Buttercream Frosting, but where the butter is melted first, as this gives much better consistency. I beat the eggs with a stand-up mixer for 10 minutes until they were very airy, and then as I added the heavy cream, I continued to beat it on a high setting. The result was a richly-flavored cake that was exceptionally moist and had a rather light crumb for its heavy ingredients. It was delicious. It was so good, I greedily brought the leftovers home with me instead of giving the to the birthday girl. (Note: do not calculate how many grams of saturated fat are in a double layer version of this cake with buttercream frosting. There's a reason it tastes so good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I too, was looking for something to do with leftover cream and decided on this one...and glad I did! I added an extra dash more of vanilla just for good measure (based on the reviews). I made an almond prailine glaze which went over well. I didn't know what to expect and the best description I can say is that it's like a pound cake, which I love! Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I made this cake exactly to the directions and it turned out wonderful. I didn't find it salty at all. It rose perfectly and was level. I split the cake and filled it with a strawberry whipped cream filling and frosted it with sweetened whipped cream. Have been searching for the perfect yellow cake and I think this is it! Only complaint is that it makes a small cake, so I'll have to double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I just made this cake today and it was really, really good! I read all 83 reviews before making it and decided to make the following changes because these alterations appeared in many of the reviews... I used 1 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla, 2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt. I beat the eggs for 10 minutes before adding the sugar and vanilla, a little at a time. Came out moist and not dense. Enjoyed by all. Thanks for the great recipe (and for all the people who took the time to write up a review)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States