Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2000
This cake is really good. The texture and moistness were sublime. I didn't bother putting any frosting--we just ate it with applesauce. I will definitely make this again, but the next time I will try frosting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
This cake turned out neither delicate or really moist. It has a salty taste which tells me 1 tsp is too much...I'm taking it out of my recipe file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This cake is wonderful! So much so, that I made it for my son's 2nd birthday. Everyone loved it! This is the third time I have baked it & plan to use it instead of box mixes in the future it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I was looking for a quick and easy recipe for some left over heavy cream. This was great ! Easy and yummy. Great texture, not to heavy like a lot of cream cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
This cake was awful! Flat and heavy. I definately won't make this again! I was trying to find recipes to use up the "leftover" heavy cream... ick. I'll use the cake for trifle...now where's a recipe for that.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This recipe was fantastic. After reading the other reviews that said the cake was dense, I added a little extra baking powder. It turned out, light, airy, and full of creamy vanilla flavor. A definite make-again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This recipe was just OK. I don't know that I'll try it again, but if I do I will definitely add a glaze. It just needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This cake is very good. It's simple and makes just the right size cake for a small family. I beat the eggs until peaks formed and I added a little more baking powder. It rose well and was very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
I used this as the base in an ice cream cake (baked in a springform, topped w/ 1/2 gallon vanilla mixed with 1/2 package coconut and 1 pkg coconut pudding that had been combined with 1 1/2 c. milk - then iced). It was fairly dry, but that worked well as the ice cream melted. It froze well. I'll use it for this again, but probably not as a stand alone cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I guess this is the day that I am getting around to rating alot of the recipes that I forgot. I made this back a few months ago and it was great! I did not change a thing and it came out perfect. Not heavy or dense in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States