Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were very tasty. I made 1 plain cupcake and 1 marble cupcake using "Black Magic Cake" and this recipe. Compared to "Simple White Cake" this recipe is just as good but not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Excellent - used 1 c. sugar, cake flour instead of all-purpose flour, and only a pinch of salt - all as another reviewer suggested. Plus, added a touch of almond flavoring. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is probably my favorite, favorite recipe!! Everyone loves it so you can't go wrong with this cake for any event. I even used it for my wedding cake! I usually cut the salt down just a smidge but besides that it's perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is a rich, moist white cake with great flavor, perfect for decorating. I made a double recipe and baked it in two 9" layer pans. I thought the amount of salt was extraordinary, so I cut it back by half and was pleased with the results. I frosted it with Decorator Frosting I, also from this site. I reserved some of the frosting and folded in strawberry preserves for a strawberry buttercream filling. Delicious, beautiful, and elegant cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I love recipes that have excellent flavor with few ingredients. I consider myself a connoisseur of great cakes, and as such I rarely find recipes on this site to try, since most of them start with "1 box white cake mix." I was thrilled to find an old-fashioned cake recipe like this! I made the cake as described with the exception of halving the salt since my husband's on a low sodium diet. I doubled the recipe for a 2-layer cake, and iced it with a vanilla buttercream frosting similar to Buttercream Frosting, but where the butter is melted first, as this gives much better consistency. I beat the eggs with a stand-up mixer for 10 minutes until they were very airy, and then as I added the heavy cream, I continued to beat it on a high setting. The result was a richly-flavored cake that was exceptionally moist and had a rather light crumb for its heavy ingredients. It was delicious. It was so good, I greedily brought the leftovers home with me instead of giving the to the birthday girl. (Note: do not calculate how many grams of saturated fat are in a double layer version of this cake with buttercream frosting. There's a reason it tastes so good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Moist, delectable yellow cake. The best part of the cake is that you can tell people there's no butter or oil in the cake and yet it's THAT good..let them figure out how
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arsineh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Made this cake for the 1st time for an office birthday. Everyone loved it! A substitute I made was using cake flour instead of all purpose. I also tripled the recipe and baked 3 8-inch round cakes. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great recipe and easy to make. I mixed in a spoonful of orange rind and some orange essence to enhance the aroma. Next time I'll make two cakes and sandwich them with cream and jam in the middle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
These turned out wonderful! I added a 1/4 teaspoon more baking powder and used all purpose flour. I made 12 regular size cupcakes and about 12 mini sized cupcakes. They came out so moist and fluffy! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This cake tastes light and delicious... a very nice, scratch white cake recipe. I found it a little crumbly, so would not make it to be cut in to shapes for a birthday cake... but as a whole, it rises nicely (with 1/4tsp more baking powder,1/4 tsp less salt, 3 Tbsp less flour, and lots of whipping of the eggs). I made a single recipe, and got 12 mediumm cupcakes and 12 mini cupcakes out of it. I will keep looking for other white cake recipes to compare to, but this is a really good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States