Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Initially, I didn't like this cake but after it sat for a day, I found it to be good. If I make it again I would add more vanilla and be sure to not bake too long. I baked it on the longer side of the instructions and wish I had taken it out earlier so it would be moister. The cake has a big crumb and is a pleasant dessert. I frosted with some rich chocolate frosting. Thank you Carol for the recipe-- a great way to use leftover cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I just made this cake today and it was really, really good! I read all 83 reviews before making it and decided to make the following changes because these alterations appeared in many of the reviews... I used 1 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla, 2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt. I beat the eggs for 10 minutes before adding the sugar and vanilla, a little at a time. Came out moist and not dense. Enjoyed by all. Thanks for the great recipe (and for all the people who took the time to write up a review)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
The cake is DELICIOUS! I used the precise measurements given, except I added an extra 1/2 t. baking powder and 1 t. vanilla, as others had suggested. I can discern the salt, but I like it, and it helps balance the sweetness. I generally prefer a less sweet cake and will probably cut 1/4 c. of sugar next time. But I want to stress - the cake is WONDERFUL! As for the texture, mine came out light and fluffy and I did a couple of things to achieve this. First, let me say that I'm trying to always bake with some whole wheat flour, no matter the recipe, so dense texture is a particular concern when making cake. I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat. I did two things which I think contributed to the lightness of texture. First, I measured the flours, baking soda and salt in a bowl together, then I triple sifted them. Remember that old trick? It really works! I don't have a sifter, but I used my mesh strainer and it worked perfectly. The second thing I did was to quickly and lightly fold in the cream and flour by hand, with a spatula, after whipping the eggs, sugar and vanilla together. As others suggested, I beat the eggs in my stand mixer at medium speed for a full ten minutes. Then, I added 1/3 flour mix, folded gently but thoroughly, 1/2 cream, folded quickly and thoroughly and repeated. Also, I set my oven for 350 but it runs hot, so I only baked the cake for 25 min. All these things gave it a great rise! I will frost with salted caramel frosting. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzyhomemaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I thought it was a great recipe. The cake turned out really moist. I added a nice creamy lemon icing and people asked for seconds! I definitely will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The recipe worked really well. I followed others' recommendations by cutting down the salt and adding more vanilla and baking powder. This is not a very sweet cake so it provides a lot of opportunities to sue fun and perhaps a little bit sweeter icings in combination with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I probably won't make this cake again. I've made LOTS of cakes, but I had never tried a cake with heavy cream instead of butter. The texture was perfect, but it really didn't have much flavor. If I do make this again, I'll put chocolate icing instead of buttercream on it and add more flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I live in a high altitude city, Denver, so trying new recipes can be tricky. This cake was a great success. I did make some changes - I used 1 1/2 tsp. of baking powder and 1/2 tsp. of baking soda. I also used cake flour (1 1/2 cups), doubled the vanilla and added 2 tbs. of sour cream. I actually doubled the recipe (3 9" layers) and baked it at 350 degrees for 18 minutes. If you don't live in a high altitude, I'm not sure if you should follow my changes - but if you do live in high altitude, you know how a good cake recipe can go wrong, just because. This is the best white/yellow cake (it's not quite yellow b/c there's no butter and not many eggs) I've ever made. It came out moist, tender, fluffy, delicate and flavorful. I am a seasoned baker and not using butter or oil was concerning to me (which is why I added the sour cream), but I think the heavy cream makes for a wonderful texture (along with the cake flour). This recipe is a great find!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Alling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
The first time I made this I made it as written and it was wonderful!!! The second time I made it I added cinnamon and made cupcakes with cream cheese frosting and they were AMAZING!!! tasted just like a cinnamon roll. I will be making the cinnamon version again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Cake was very easy to make and cooked up very well but was dry and had a sort of salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the Tower Chef
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I doubled this recipe for a layer cake, added 2 ground vanilla beans (because my hubby *loves* vanilla) and increased the baking powder by 1/2 tsp (1/4 for single recipe) per other reviewers suggestion. It came out amazing! It would be just fine without the added vanilla bean as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States