Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I live in a high altitude city, Denver, so trying new recipes can be tricky. This cake was a great success. I did make some changes - I used 1 1/2 tsp. of baking powder and 1/2 tsp. of baking soda. I also used cake flour (1 1/2 cups), doubled the vanilla and added 2 tbs. of sour cream. I actually doubled the recipe (3 9" layers) and baked it at 350 degrees for 18 minutes. If you don't live in a high altitude, I'm not sure if you should follow my changes - but if you do live in high altitude, you know how a good cake recipe can go wrong, just because. This is the best white/yellow cake (it's not quite yellow b/c there's no butter and not many eggs) I've ever made. It came out moist, tender, fluffy, delicate and flavorful. I am a seasoned baker and not using butter or oil was concerning to me (which is why I added the sour cream), but I think the heavy cream makes for a wonderful texture (along with the cake flour). This recipe is a great find!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Alling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
The first time I made this I made it as written and it was wonderful!!! The second time I made it I added cinnamon and made cupcakes with cream cheese frosting and they were AMAZING!!! tasted just like a cinnamon roll. I will be making the cinnamon version again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Cake was very easy to make and cooked up very well but was dry and had a sort of salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the Tower Chef
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I doubled this recipe for a layer cake, added 2 ground vanilla beans (because my hubby *loves* vanilla) and increased the baking powder by 1/2 tsp (1/4 for single recipe) per other reviewers suggestion. It came out amazing! It would be just fine without the added vanilla bean as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is good, but not as fluffy as white cake. This is more like a pound cake, but you have to be very very generous with your flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Not. Good. At all. I am an experienced baker, and followed the directions to the letter...except to reduce the salt a bit. It had NO FLAVOR, unless you count salty, since apparently even 3/4 tsp is too much. So it ended up with just a blah, mildly savory quality. I did use good quality ingredients, but that wasn't enough to overcome whatever is wrong with this recipe. I give it minor points for frosting nicely, but that's about it. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Soft and light like a sponge or chiffon cake, with mild flavour. I like it very much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that would turn out smooth rounded-top cupcakes. This was the recipe to do that. Unfortunately, it did not win in taste tests. I increased the vanilla by 1/2 tsp. and decreased the salt by 1/4 tsp. It was still too salty (thought I had used salted butter until I remembered this recipe doesn't call for butter). If I make this again I would drop the salt some more and increase the sugar to 1 Cup. They looked lovely and frosted nice and smooth but they didn't taste all that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
A nice white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I was really looking forward to making and eating this cake, but I was disappointed by the results. I made the recipe into a dozen cupcakes which did rise perfectly, but the taste was lacking. I followed other reviews and added more vanilla (about a tsp more), and more baking soda (1/4 tsp more). The cake was very dense (which I was ok with), but it didn't really taste like anything- I could barely taste the vanilla at all. It's just a very bland, boring cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States