Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The recipe worked really well. I followed others' recommendations by cutting down the salt and adding more vanilla and baking powder. This is not a very sweet cake so it provides a lot of opportunities to sue fun and perhaps a little bit sweeter icings in combination with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I probably won't make this cake again. I've made LOTS of cakes, but I had never tried a cake with heavy cream instead of butter. The texture was perfect, but it really didn't have much flavor. If I do make this again, I'll put chocolate icing instead of buttercream on it and add more flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I live in a high altitude city, Denver, so trying new recipes can be tricky. This cake was a great success. I did make some changes - I used 1 1/2 tsp. of baking powder and 1/2 tsp. of baking soda. I also used cake flour (1 1/2 cups), doubled the vanilla and added 2 tbs. of sour cream. I actually doubled the recipe (3 9" layers) and baked it at 350 degrees for 18 minutes. If you don't live in a high altitude, I'm not sure if you should follow my changes - but if you do live in high altitude, you know how a good cake recipe can go wrong, just because. This is the best white/yellow cake (it's not quite yellow b/c there's no butter and not many eggs) I've ever made. It came out moist, tender, fluffy, delicate and flavorful. I am a seasoned baker and not using butter or oil was concerning to me (which is why I added the sour cream), but I think the heavy cream makes for a wonderful texture (along with the cake flour). This recipe is a great find!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Alling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
The first time I made this I made it as written and it was wonderful!!! The second time I made it I added cinnamon and made cupcakes with cream cheese frosting and they were AMAZING!!! tasted just like a cinnamon roll. I will be making the cinnamon version again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Cake was very easy to make and cooked up very well but was dry and had a sort of salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the Tower Chef
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I doubled this recipe for a layer cake, added 2 ground vanilla beans (because my hubby *loves* vanilla) and increased the baking powder by 1/2 tsp (1/4 for single recipe) per other reviewers suggestion. It came out amazing! It would be just fine without the added vanilla bean as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is good, but not as fluffy as white cake. This is more like a pound cake, but you have to be very very generous with your flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Not. Good. At all. I am an experienced baker, and followed the directions to the letter...except to reduce the salt a bit. It had NO FLAVOR, unless you count salty, since apparently even 3/4 tsp is too much. So it ended up with just a blah, mildly savory quality. I did use good quality ingredients, but that wasn't enough to overcome whatever is wrong with this recipe. I give it minor points for frosting nicely, but that's about it. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Soft and light like a sponge or chiffon cake, with mild flavour. I like it very much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that would turn out smooth rounded-top cupcakes. This was the recipe to do that. Unfortunately, it did not win in taste tests. I increased the vanilla by 1/2 tsp. and decreased the salt by 1/4 tsp. It was still too salty (thought I had used salted butter until I remembered this recipe doesn't call for butter). If I make this again I would drop the salt some more and increase the sugar to 1 Cup. They looked lovely and frosted nice and smooth but they didn't taste all that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States