Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Proudmuslima64
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
We love this cake I bake it at least twice a month. Alhamdullilah Now, I do make some small changes. 1) I use freshly ground dinkel (spelt) instead a all purpose flour, it is better for your digestion and more nutritious. 2) I use 2 tsp. of baking soda instead of baking powder. Baking powder has aluminum in it and causes dementia. 3) And I use 1 tsp of Himalayan Salt instead of table salt. It is all natural and doesn't contain chemicals like iodized salt does. Nor does it have the contaminates from pollution that sea salt has. The cake is light and fluffy. MashaAllah I make a strawberry sauce using a half a bag of frozen strawberries and 1/2 C. of sugar. Boil together and stir constantly until thickened, and let cool. Top with home made whipped cream...Yummy! MashaAllah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This recipe has a nice taste, however I think it is too much salt. The directions says to beat the eggs until very thick but I used a stand mixer so I didn't get the desired thickness. Not sure if this is the reason for the heavy rubbery feel that I got. This was a minus for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Absolutely loved it. The only alteration was the amount of salt after reading some of the reviews. The cake came out light and fluffy. Will double the recipe next time though. Many thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah heath
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great recipe. I needed to use up some left over cream. Gave this recipe a go. The cake was light n fluffy.Next time I will add 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I also added extra teaspoon of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
moist white cake and great flavor. fabulous!!! I increased the baking powder and vanilla and decreased the salt by 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
It came out dry and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The cake turned out great, it's just the design and whipped cream (icing) i'd like to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I am not a vanilla/white cake fan but this cake is amazing! Creamy, silky smooth, rich in flavor, denser like a pound cake but not too dense! Well received, and universally loved!! I did however add more vanilla than the recipe called for about 3 to 4 times as much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This is a really great recipe. No additions nor subtractions are necessary. I do suggest making your own homemade frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylandria Harp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Sorry but i didn't like this one. The cake was way too crumbly. The flavor potential is there but even after adding less sat more vanilla and more baking powder this cake was a fail. I was attempting to use up half a carton of heavy cream. So i chanced it......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States