Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This recipe was fantastic. After reading the other reviews that said the cake was dense, I added a little extra baking powder. It turned out, light, airy, and full of creamy vanilla flavor. A definite make-again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I followed the suggested changes to the indgredients, 1/4tsp more vanilla, 1/4tsp less salt, 1/4tsp more baking powder. I made 6 cakes, for 2 three-layered cakes. Worked great and tastes great too. I'm keeping this recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
The picture looks nothing like the cake I made. I made this cake for 40 servings. It came out in 3 10inch layers. I seperated the batter into 3 equal bowls and colored each layer a different color, pink, lavender, blue for my daughters 2nd birthday. I frosted with marshmellow frosting. Everyone loved the cake. It was perfectly moist and not too sweet. It had a very good homemade taste to it. My daughters loved it. I sell cakes from my home, and this is going to be my new birthday rainbow cake I will be offering to my customers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I guess this is the day that I am getting around to rating alot of the recipes that I forgot. I made this back a few months ago and it was great! I did not change a thing and it came out perfect. Not heavy or dense in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2000
This cake is really good. The texture and moistness were sublime. I didn't bother putting any frosting--we just ate it with applesauce. I will definitely make this again, but the next time I will try frosting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I wanted to find a cake to make for my small wedding. I found this cake and gave it a try BEFORE the big day! I tripled the recipe and made it in three 9 in. cake pans. I did cook one of the pans a little too long but I brought it to work so my trial run wouldn't go to waste and everyone loved it. I made it for the big day and I froze each layer a few days before to keep it and everything was great. I got a lot of compliments on how great it tasted. Thanks for the great recipe and making my wedding cake special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This cake is wonderful! So much so, that I made it for my son's 2nd birthday. Everyone loved it! This is the third time I have baked it & plan to use it instead of box mixes in the future it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I was looking for a quick and easy recipe for some left over heavy cream. This was great ! Easy and yummy. Great texture, not to heavy like a lot of cream cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. The texture is fine, and a little like a pound cake, though slightly lighter. I doubled it and used a 10 x 3" spring form pan. Based on other review recommendations, I also used more baking powder (1/4 teaspoon extra for the 9” pan recipe) and cut down on the salt (-1/4 teaspoon for the 9”). It turned out extremely well, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
It was a good thing that I read all the reviews before making this cake for even with a 1/2 tsp of salt, I felt it was still a wee bit salty. Next time I might reduce the amount to 1/4 tsp. Other than the salt and baking powder, I followed the instructions as written and had an easy time baking it. Timing was spot on, and cake was delicious. Moist and soft, and not overly sweet. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States