Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2000
This cake is really good. The texture and moistness were sublime. I didn't bother putting any frosting--we just ate it with applesauce. I will definitely make this again, but the next time I will try frosting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
This cake turned out neither delicate or really moist. It has a salty taste which tells me 1 tsp is too much...I'm taking it out of my recipe file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This cake is wonderful! So much so, that I made it for my son's 2nd birthday. Everyone loved it! This is the third time I have baked it & plan to use it instead of box mixes in the future it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I was looking for a quick and easy recipe for some left over heavy cream. This was great ! Easy and yummy. Great texture, not to heavy like a lot of cream cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
This cake was awful! Flat and heavy. I definately won't make this again! I was trying to find recipes to use up the "leftover" heavy cream... ick. I'll use the cake for trifle...now where's a recipe for that.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This recipe was fantastic. After reading the other reviews that said the cake was dense, I added a little extra baking powder. It turned out, light, airy, and full of creamy vanilla flavor. A definite make-again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This recipe was just OK. I don't know that I'll try it again, but if I do I will definitely add a glaze. It just needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This cake is very good. It's simple and makes just the right size cake for a small family. I beat the eggs until peaks formed and I added a little more baking powder. It rose well and was very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
I used this as the base in an ice cream cake (baked in a springform, topped w/ 1/2 gallon vanilla mixed with 1/2 package coconut and 1 pkg coconut pudding that had been combined with 1 1/2 c. milk - then iced). It was fairly dry, but that worked well as the ice cream melted. It froze well. I'll use it for this again, but probably not as a stand alone cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I guess this is the day that I am getting around to rating alot of the recipes that I forgot. I made this back a few months ago and it was great! I did not change a thing and it came out perfect. Not heavy or dense in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States