Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
YUMMM!!! This was a really delicious recipe. It was really moist and fabulous! I am a big fan of making simple white cakes and this one is definately a keeper! It is really simple and by the time I set it on the table, my guests devoured it in about 10 minutes. I then had to make a second one and decided to make this one a layered cake so I ended up making two of them and layered them with a mild flavored mocha frosting. DELISHHH! I topped it with some coconut and was ready to go. It is perfect for a party or even just to fulfil a sweet craving. I loved it and so did everyone that tried it!. **I added about a TBSP and a half of milk to it and I think it really helped keep it moist and a bit less dense. **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Love

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I made it again this time I added chocolate and I made a delicious chocolate cake with chocolate frosting!! yuuuuuuuuuuummmmmmmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I followed the other people's suggestions and reduced the salt by about 1/4 teaspoon and increased the baking powder by the same amount. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bundt pan at 325 for about 45 minutes and it came out really wonderful. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I LOVE THIS RECIPES. IT WAS GONE THAT NIGHT.NOW I HAVE TO MAKE IT VERY DAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gidget Hammers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I made this cake exactly to the directions and it turned out wonderful. I didn't find it salty at all. It rose perfectly and was level. I split the cake and filled it with a strawberry whipped cream filling and frosted it with sweetened whipped cream. Have been searching for the perfect yellow cake and I think this is it! Only complaint is that it makes a small cake, so I'll have to double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
A bit too sweet but turned out very nicely. I made cupcakes out of this recipe & it turned out perfect. Would definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I have a very similar recipe from my very very old (thrift store purchase) cookbook called the Settlement Cookbook (lots of really cool old and now unusual recipes) That recipe calls for 1 cup of sugar, cake flour instead of regular flour, and just a pinch of salt. Make those substitions and this cake is very light, moist, and just the right amount of sweetness. Also the bake time was 375 degrees for just 25 minutes (time was right on for my oven but check yours before 25 to be sure.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
It was a good thing that I read all the reviews before making this cake for even with a 1/2 tsp of salt, I felt it was still a wee bit salty. Next time I might reduce the amount to 1/4 tsp. Other than the salt and baking powder, I followed the instructions as written and had an easy time baking it. Timing was spot on, and cake was delicious. Moist and soft, and not overly sweet. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
The picture looks nothing like the cake I made. I made this cake for 40 servings. It came out in 3 10inch layers. I seperated the batter into 3 equal bowls and colored each layer a different color, pink, lavender, blue for my daughters 2nd birthday. I frosted with marshmellow frosting. Everyone loved the cake. It was perfectly moist and not too sweet. It had a very good homemade taste to it. My daughters loved it. I sell cakes from my home, and this is going to be my new birthday rainbow cake I will be offering to my customers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I wanted to find a cake to make for my small wedding. I found this cake and gave it a try BEFORE the big day! I tripled the recipe and made it in three 9 in. cake pans. I did cook one of the pans a little too long but I brought it to work so my trial run wouldn't go to waste and everyone loved it. I made it for the big day and I froze each layer a few days before to keep it and everything was great. I got a lot of compliments on how great it tasted. Thanks for the great recipe and making my wedding cake special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States