Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I made it again this time I added chocolate and I made a delicious chocolate cake with chocolate frosting!! yuuuuuuuuuuummmmmmmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I followed the other people's suggestions and reduced the salt by about 1/4 teaspoon and increased the baking powder by the same amount. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bundt pan at 325 for about 45 minutes and it came out really wonderful. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I LOVE THIS RECIPES. IT WAS GONE THAT NIGHT.NOW I HAVE TO MAKE IT VERY DAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I made this cake exactly to the directions and it turned out wonderful. I didn't find it salty at all. It rose perfectly and was level. I split the cake and filled it with a strawberry whipped cream filling and frosted it with sweetened whipped cream. Have been searching for the perfect yellow cake and I think this is it! Only complaint is that it makes a small cake, so I'll have to double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
A bit too sweet but turned out very nicely. I made cupcakes out of this recipe & it turned out perfect. Would definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I have a very similar recipe from my very very old (thrift store purchase) cookbook called the Settlement Cookbook (lots of really cool old and now unusual recipes) That recipe calls for 1 cup of sugar, cake flour instead of regular flour, and just a pinch of salt. Make those substitions and this cake is very light, moist, and just the right amount of sweetness. Also the bake time was 375 degrees for just 25 minutes (time was right on for my oven but check yours before 25 to be sure.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
It was a good thing that I read all the reviews before making this cake for even with a 1/2 tsp of salt, I felt it was still a wee bit salty. Next time I might reduce the amount to 1/4 tsp. Other than the salt and baking powder, I followed the instructions as written and had an easy time baking it. Timing was spot on, and cake was delicious. Moist and soft, and not overly sweet. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
The picture looks nothing like the cake I made. I made this cake for 40 servings. It came out in 3 10inch layers. I seperated the batter into 3 equal bowls and colored each layer a different color, pink, lavender, blue for my daughters 2nd birthday. I frosted with marshmellow frosting. Everyone loved the cake. It was perfectly moist and not too sweet. It had a very good homemade taste to it. My daughters loved it. I sell cakes from my home, and this is going to be my new birthday rainbow cake I will be offering to my customers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I wanted to find a cake to make for my small wedding. I found this cake and gave it a try BEFORE the big day! I tripled the recipe and made it in three 9 in. cake pans. I did cook one of the pans a little too long but I brought it to work so my trial run wouldn't go to waste and everyone loved it. I made it for the big day and I froze each layer a few days before to keep it and everything was great. I got a lot of compliments on how great it tasted. Thanks for the great recipe and making my wedding cake special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I followed the suggested changes to the indgredients, 1/4tsp more vanilla, 1/4tsp less salt, 1/4tsp more baking powder. I made 6 cakes, for 2 three-layered cakes. Worked great and tastes great too. I'm keeping this recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States