Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
this recipe turned out delicious!! i made it into cupcakes and they were moist and yummy... this is a great basic recipe for white cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
very good. great base recipe for cupcakes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This cake is easy and delicious! I followed other reviewers' advice and omitted 1/4 tsp. salt and added 1/4 tsp. baking powder. I beat the eggs and sugar together at high speed for about 10 minutes and I think that makes quite a difference. I also used very good quality vanilla to enhance the flavour. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bundt pan but it almost overflowed--next time I'll put some of the extra batter in a small loaf pan. I cut the cake into bite sized pieces and used it for a chocolate fondue, but it would be very good with whip cream, ice cream, or many different icings. A very versatile cake! It still tasted very good after 4 days (being kept in an airtight container).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa F.
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I made this recipe into 10 cupcakes. They came out so delicious and moist...5 stars, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa F.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I made this to use up some cream I had in the fridge. I used Splenda instead of sugar and doubled the vanilla. There was not enough batter to be using a deep bundt pan so next time I will stick to what the recipe recommends. I heated strawberry jam and drizzled it over the cake as soon as it came out of the oven....a strawberries and cream cake! Yum. I imagine this would be good served with warm brandy custard aswell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PULCHRA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I used this recipe for my Son's 2nd birthday. I used an Octopus shaped cakepan, and this was the perfect recipe as it was not to heavy, and staid together wonderfully. It had a really nice flavor, and was a nice color to decorate colorfully for a child's birthday. I live in Germany, and I can not buy Vanilla extract so I used some Bourbon Vanilla Sugar, plus some Butter Vanilla Aroma and did not notice a difference. It was so tasty and cool looking, I made 3 more over the weekend for other family gatherings and it was a huge hit! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Maybe the best white cake I've had the day I made it and maybe the next day. After that it just lost something. Wonderful cake if you plan on eating it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This cake is so yummy! I changed nothing from the recipe aside from doubling it. Very moist...simple, allowing for a variety of decorating options. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollfayce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This cake may have been great right after it was made, but I was using it for the next day for a birthday cake and it was really dry and coarse. I won't make it again. I'm not sure if it was because it had gotten stale or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I only used a pinch of salt and 1/2 tsp more vanilla. Came out great, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States