Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Made this cake for the 1st time for an office birthday. Everyone loved it! A substitute I made was using cake flour instead of all purpose. I also tripled the recipe and baked 3 8-inch round cakes. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great recipe and easy to make. I mixed in a spoonful of orange rind and some orange essence to enhance the aroma. Next time I'll make two cakes and sandwich them with cream and jam in the middle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
These turned out wonderful! I added a 1/4 teaspoon more baking powder and used all purpose flour. I made 12 regular size cupcakes and about 12 mini sized cupcakes. They came out so moist and fluffy! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This cake tastes light and delicious... a very nice, scratch white cake recipe. I found it a little crumbly, so would not make it to be cut in to shapes for a birthday cake... but as a whole, it rises nicely (with 1/4tsp more baking powder,1/4 tsp less salt, 3 Tbsp less flour, and lots of whipping of the eggs). I made a single recipe, and got 12 mediumm cupcakes and 12 mini cupcakes out of it. I will keep looking for other white cake recipes to compare to, but this is a really good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I am going to make this tonight but have made it many times before. This time I am going to make it with cream cheese frosting. Plain or with frosing....it is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Good old fashion cake. Made mine in a bundt pan and served with a strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
this recipe turned out delicious!! i made it into cupcakes and they were moist and yummy... this is a great basic recipe for white cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
very good. great base recipe for cupcakes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This cake is easy and delicious! I followed other reviewers' advice and omitted 1/4 tsp. salt and added 1/4 tsp. baking powder. I beat the eggs and sugar together at high speed for about 10 minutes and I think that makes quite a difference. I also used very good quality vanilla to enhance the flavour. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bundt pan but it almost overflowed--next time I'll put some of the extra batter in a small loaf pan. I cut the cake into bite sized pieces and used it for a chocolate fondue, but it would be very good with whip cream, ice cream, or many different icings. A very versatile cake! It still tasted very good after 4 days (being kept in an airtight container).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa F.
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I made this recipe into 10 cupcakes. They came out so delicious and moist...5 stars, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa F.

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States