Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This recipe comes together pretty quickly and easily for a scratch cake. I've used it twice for cupcakes. It makes 14 standard sized cupcakes. I used my whisk attachment on the stand mixer to whip up the eggs for a few minutes to get them nice and thick. Texture of cupcakes were nice, flavor was good and not too sweet. They domed nicely. All in all, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
What a delicious cake!! I made this for my dad's birthday, and it was a hit with our entire family. I doubled the recipe to make a two-layer 9" cake, and half of the cake fed all 10 of us. I beat the eggs for 10 minutes as other reviewers had suggested, and I think that is extremely important in making this cake light and fluffy. Otherwise, I can see how it would be very dense. My whole family commented on how light and moist it was. I served this with the Rich Chocolate Frosting from this site, and couldn't have asked for a better cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I made these for a wedding that I was making cupcakes for. I made an initial test batch and found them to have a slightly metallic after taste that I thought came from the baking powder. The next batch I made I decreased the baking powder to 1 1/2 t. and they were perfect! The texture was like velvet, the cake was a nice denseness and each recipe made 15 perfect cupcakes. I needed to make 12 batches of this recipe, but it goes together very quickly. The bride loved them. I froze a few that I had left over and they were great when I pulled them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
i put a little chocolate powter in it and it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were very tasty. I made 1 plain cupcake and 1 marble cupcake using "Black Magic Cake" and this recipe. Compared to "Simple White Cake" this recipe is just as good but not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Excellent - used 1 c. sugar, cake flour instead of all-purpose flour, and only a pinch of salt - all as another reviewer suggested. Plus, added a touch of almond flavoring. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is probably my favorite, favorite recipe!! Everyone loves it so you can't go wrong with this cake for any event. I even used it for my wedding cake! I usually cut the salt down just a smidge but besides that it's perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is a rich, moist white cake with great flavor, perfect for decorating. I made a double recipe and baked it in two 9" layer pans. I thought the amount of salt was extraordinary, so I cut it back by half and was pleased with the results. I frosted it with Decorator Frosting I, also from this site. I reserved some of the frosting and folded in strawberry preserves for a strawberry buttercream filling. Delicious, beautiful, and elegant cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I love recipes that have excellent flavor with few ingredients. I consider myself a connoisseur of great cakes, and as such I rarely find recipes on this site to try, since most of them start with "1 box white cake mix." I was thrilled to find an old-fashioned cake recipe like this! I made the cake as described with the exception of halving the salt since my husband's on a low sodium diet. I doubled the recipe for a 2-layer cake, and iced it with a vanilla buttercream frosting similar to Buttercream Frosting, but where the butter is melted first, as this gives much better consistency. I beat the eggs with a stand-up mixer for 10 minutes until they were very airy, and then as I added the heavy cream, I continued to beat it on a high setting. The result was a richly-flavored cake that was exceptionally moist and had a rather light crumb for its heavy ingredients. It was delicious. It was so good, I greedily brought the leftovers home with me instead of giving the to the birthday girl. (Note: do not calculate how many grams of saturated fat are in a double layer version of this cake with buttercream frosting. There's a reason it tastes so good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Moist, delectable yellow cake. The best part of the cake is that you can tell people there's no butter or oil in the cake and yet it's THAT good..let them figure out how
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arsineh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States