Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
What an extremely easy recipe! This is exactly what I had been looking for - a recipe that makes fluffy soft cake! I took the suggestions of other reviewers and used cake flour, added 1/4 tsp baking powder, cut back the salt to 1/2 tsp, and beat the eggs for 10 min. I doubled the recipe and poured it into 3 round 9" pans to make a strawberry jam layered cake and used the whipped cream cheese frosting to frost it. The bf gobbled it up! You must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made this as is except that I added about half a teaspoon more baking powder juuust in case. It was perfect! The texture was so very fluffy. On its own, it could have stood to be a little sweeter for those of us with a potent sweet tooth, but as is it would be complemented wonderfully by some good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Mine tasted like sweet cornbread for some reason. Not sure why since I didn't use cornmeal! I'll pass on these. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melody741

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Way too much salt. Texture was weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
awesome cake! I also followed some of the others advice regarding less salt, a touch more vanilla extract and a little more baking powder for a lighter, fluffier cake. came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This cake is so good! it's perfect for birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I don't know what happened! I made a double batch so I could make a 2-layer cake. I used cake flour, but I followed the rest of the instructions exactly. I wonder if I mixed each step for too long? I didn't know what "beat eggs until very thick" meant, so I had my stand mixer beating the eggs for about 8 minutes. I also didn't know what "beating well" meant when I added the sugar and vanilla, so I assumed it meant beat for another 5 minutes or so to fully incorporate the sugar. I did the three part addition of the flour, cream, flour, cream, flour as instructed. This process took about 8 more minutes. I baked it in 2 separate round cake pans for 30 minutes, but my cake came out dry and sorta dense :( I had such high hopes for this recipe because the reviews were so positive. I might try this again, but I'll beat each step for a shorter period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Great taste and very fluffy. I was searching for a simple white/vanilla type of cake and came across this recipe. I added a little more baking powder, as suggested by another reviewer. I made them into cupcakes and baked for approx 18-20 min. until they turned light golden brown on top. Everyone at home loved them. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Iris VelillaCastro

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this for my grandmother's b-day when she requested a white cake. I followed the recipe and it came out very thin-it did taste good though! I might not have let my eggs set out long enough or something like that. Next time I will add more baking powder and less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This cake is wonderful! I didn't have heavy whipping cream on hand so I just used Table Cream (18% MF).. The taste is lovely and they're very light and airy.. Would've liked them to have been more moist but I did use the recipe for cupcakes.. They only took 19 minutes in the oven! Will keep making!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States