Crazy Mixed Up Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Fantastic cake--very moist, very chocolately, very easy to make. I have no idea why anyone would choose to mix it in the pan, though, unless it's just for the novelty of the idea, and to avoid dirtying a bowl. Next time I make it (and I will make it again) I'm going to just mix it in a bowl and pour it in the pan. I followed the directions this time, but stirring the mixture in a pan that's been greased and floured results in the cake sticking to the pan in places. Not a huge problem, but it would be easier to serve if it came out cleanly from the pan. Plus, the ingredients would be much easier to mix thoroughly in a bowl. It's fun to call it a crazy mixed-up cake and give funny directions for making it, but it's not practical to stir it in the pan. But it is a delicious cake, so thanks for the recipe, Peachey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
My family gobbled up this yummy cake in no time flat! We'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This cake is fabulous and so completely easy! I didn't want to run the risk of making a mess mixing it in the pan so I added everything but the chocolate chips to a bowl and mixed thoroughly. Then, I dumped it in the pan and sprinkled the chocolate chips on top. It cooked for 35 minutes in a stoneware pan and came out with the perfect consistency and tasted fantastic. I made it for a scrapbooking crop and it was a HUGE hit. You can't get any easier than this and get this kind of flavor. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Excellent for cravings! I used raspberry vinegar, and the fruity boost made my night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, including mixing it in the baking dish. I had no problems with it sticking to the dish. The only problem I had was the baking time. I had to bake my cake closer to 45 minutes and it was still a tad doughy on top. Still super yummy, though! If you are looking for a fantastic, prize winning recipe, then this is not it. However, if you are looking for an easy recipe (with ingredients that are almost always on hand) to satisfy a sweet tooth craving that will please the whole family, then this is it. It is definitely worth giving a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This cake was so simple to prepare and it was chocolatey goodness! Do add a scoop of vanilla ice cream to this dessert for the ultimate treat! Thank you for this easy, one dish,no fuss, no muss, chocolatey goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This turned out very tasty. It did take a good bit longer to bake, however. After 35 minutes, the center was still liquid. I baked it about 7 minutes longer and tried the toothpick. The cake immediately sank in the middle. After 5 more minutes it was finally done. My husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
ahhh...back to the simple days! I remember my best friend and I making this cake all the time --- so easy ...minimal clean up! I used apple cider vinegar (even though it didn't specify) and dusted w/ xxx sugar and served w/ FF whipped topping....DELISH!! my dinner guest had 2 slices!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTY304

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
a good cake but it is NOT a "crazy cake" as they DO NOT use milk (or egg).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This does taste like the crazy cake of years ago which is a general, but plain chocolate cake without a chocolate punch. The chocolate chips help, but it's better to mix them into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States