Crazy Crust Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is similar to a 60's bake-off winner, except for the crust. The original used Bisquick baking mix instead of the crust ingredients above. The Bisquick crust is very slightly sweet and does taste alot like a biscuit. I've also made it with canned peaches, pineapple, and cherry pie filling. Fresh fruit also tastes good but watch the liquid so your pie doesn't get too juicy (soggy crust - yuk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This pie was delicious, but...it looked like it was floating in butter when I removed it from the oven. Once it had cooled slightly, the excess butter was absorbed although the pie remained sort of greasy. I have to say, though, that it tasted great! I made my own filling from fresh apples, as others did. I needed a 10" pie plate, and the butter still spilled over onto the baking sheet underneath. This pie was easy and fun to fix. I am eager to try this again with less butter, and maybe with different pie fillings. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
5 stars when it turns out right. Found this recipe yrs ago from Pillsbury but miss placed it. Refound, yaaaa. Seems to only turn out for me every other time but still worth it. I have the recipe for Fresh Apple Filling and says to use 10" pan or 9" Deep Dish. Can also be made with Pumpkin. Please give it at least 2 chances, it's well wort it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I thought this recipe was good. It makes making pies so easy and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tender foot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Like many others who posted, I changed it only because I find canned apple pie filling too sweet and not as flavorful as making my own. I sliced up 4 apples (3 honeycrisp and 1 gala) into a pan with 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 cup sugar, 2.5 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. cloves. After sauteing for about 15 minutes on medium heat, I poured over the crust mixture in the recipe. I took this to my sister's for Thanksgiving and it was a great hit. Other than boiling over in my oven, I was really happy with it. The original recipe did not specify size of pan so I used a 9" pyrex pie pan and it did not accomodate the apple/crust mixture. I'll use a bigger pan next time because I thought the amount of apples was appropriate. Overall, I thought this is a creative way to make an applie pie without having to make a standard pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I used fresh apples seasoned with nutmeg,cinnamon, and all spice. I added 1 cup sugar and 4tbs butter I then microwaved this mixture for approx 5 min. Then I added flour,egg, baking powder and mixed these like listed with about 1/2c sugar. Combined all and mixed up. Added lemon juice last turned out great. Thank you for the inspiration on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hall Lynam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My lactose intolerant friends loved this! They thought the crust was delicious. Now I am going to try it with other fruit fillings as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This recipe was very good. It was a nice change to the same old apple pie. I did do it a little different. I used fresh apples and mixed them with some flour and sugar and then microwaved them for 2 minutes to soften them. I also addes a crumb topping on the top of 1/3c of flour and 1/4c of brown sugar with 2TB of melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I really didn't like this and my husband and kids also thought it was gross. I think it taste really 'eggy' even though there is only one egg in it. If anything is it more like a 'kuchen' breakfast cake than a 'pie.' I had one slice and the rest went in the garbage. At least I got to use up that can of apple pie filling I had in the cupboard. It did look pretty nice and smell good, but the taste and texture were all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
The filling was all right, but the crust tasted awful. It was not crumbly nor tasted like biscuit. A huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States