Crazy Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I can't believe some of the reviews. This cake is by far the best I have ever made. I use it for everything.. I up the coco to 1 cup but other than that I think the other bakers must have missed something.. Thank you for sharing.. Now I am off to make cake #2 :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate1118

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Absolutely horrible dense and center undercooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I officially joined allrecipes.com just to comment on this recipe. It is AMAZING. I would have never believed that this recipe could produce the MOISTEST cake ever, but it has. I will never use any other recipe again. My kids love it, and it's a great base for other cakes as well (we've done vanilla and spice cake, so far). I did up the cocoa to 1 cup. Also, it's vegan for those so inclined!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I thought this cake was AWSOME, even though I was a bit hesitant to made it with the bad reviews. Glad I did! I used 1 cup dark cocoa powder, and ICE water. It was fluffy, moist, with great chocolate taste, and it was super easy, (my 8 y/o daughter made it with supervision). Plus, what a money saver without the eggs and milk. And, only one pan to wash....what!?! You should make this today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisanmat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This cake is amazing. I have made it many times and every single time it's a big hit. This is the family cake now. Every occasion I am asked to make this cake. I do mix it up in my mixer because there can be lumps if I don't, but the idea is that this cake is that simple that you could do it all in one bowl (just mix it really well!). I have made it into cupcakes, round cake and the 9x13. I don't know how anyone gets a bad result, but my guess would be that they don't measure correctly or there is error in the baking process. I watch my cakes as they bake and as soon as the testing pick comes out clean I pull them out. This cake is always moist, always chocolately, and always super delicious. Make this cake! It's also great for food allergy concerns since there is no egg or dairy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Not my favorite recipe. Tried adding an egg and extra cocoa, but it was very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
First time I ever commented on any recipe I tried from this website. Thought I should do this today.Tried this recipe for my son's b'day yesterday and got rave reviews and the cake was gone in seconds. few people wanted TO GO but it was gone. I cut the recipe to fit a round pan and cut down all the ingredients to half and it came out perfect...trying it in 9x13 pan today. Thanks again for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
dlish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is basically the same cake that I knew as the Xtra Special Celebration Cake from the A to Z children's cookbook by Gold Medal flour. Only change is 1/2 c. cocoa, and mixing the dry and wet ingredients separately, then combining them at the end. Absolutely my favorite cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
use one cup of sugar for a low sugar and use apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar and coffee instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States