Crazy Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Thanks for reminding me of this cake. We called it Whacky cake. I made it many many times for my son who is allergic to dairy products and eggs. This was always his birthday cake. I followed the recipie except as others added more chocolate..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmiller2011
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Fan-frickin'-tastic! I took the advice of a few others and used 2 tbsp of vinegar and extra cocoa powder - and I added 2 extra ;) (I used Caribbean cocoa.) I also added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and used cake flour instead. I was a little nervous about how watery the batter seemed, but it turned out just right - very moist! I topped with ganache from another recipe on this site and sprinkled pecan chips over it. SO DELICIOUS. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmiller2011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I have been using this recipe for the past 3 yrs. My oldest was was allergic to eggs and I needed to find a delicious chocolate cake recipe without using eggs. It is super moist, heavy, gooey, and rich in chocolate. I use 8 tbsp of cocoa powder instead. Such a great recipe for someone who is allergic to eggs or dairy! I always get many compliments. The only compliant is that it does not rise as well so you have to use a bit more batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingmomof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
i made this recipe as a half recipe after reading the reveiws then decided to make another, the first turned out with no flavour at all and looked like it hadnt cooked so i changed the second a bit. With it i added a couple tablespoons more cocoa and extra water until it looked like cake batter. It turned out delicous as a half recipe but i dont think i will make it again since its so iffy about turning out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Good recipe, but DO NOT cook 35 minutes! Try 25 min, since 35 mintues burned my cake! Had to re-cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1life1world
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was an excellent recipe!!! I used 1 tablespoon white vinegar, one tablespoon lemon juice. I also used milk instead of water and added a half teaspoon of instant coffee as someone suggested. I also upped the cocoa to 1 cup and added 1 teaspoon of baking powder... this was amazing! Finally I mixed the dry ingredients in a bowl and the wet ingredients in a separate bowl then mixed them and poured into pan. Rich, chocolatey, yummy and less fat since there is no eggs! Also no worries, you cant taste the vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A very similar recipe appeared in Peg Bracken's "I Hate To Cook Cookbook" as Cockeyed Cake, and I remember seeing another in one of the first Bake Off cookbooks (from the early 1950's). My family has been making Cockeyed Cake for 40+ years, and never had a failure that I can recall. THE CORRECT AMOUNT OF VINEGAR PROBABLY SHOULD BE 2 TABLESPOONS, NOT 2 TEASPOONS! YOU MAY ALSO TRY 2 TEASPOONS OF VANILLA. I also think that the preparation instructions may be causing some problems here. The original recipes were 1/2 this amount and were mixed in a 9" pan. THE DRY INGREDIENTS MUST BE SIFTED TOGETHER WELL BEFORE YOU ADD THE WET INGREDIENTS. You may want to do what the original recipes specified: Make three wells (one each for the vinegar, oil, and vanilla), then pour the cold water over all. When I make this, I generally use a bowl to mix the batter rather than the baking pan. It is easier to get the batter evenly mixed. Also, the vinegar activates the baking soda right away, so it is important to get the cake in the oven immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
My daughter is allergic to eggs and severely lactose intolerant....so I was sooo happy to find a recipe that has neither (and that I don't have to try to figure out how to substitute ingredients for her). It was good, maybe not the absolute best cake ever, but good, and my daughter can eat it so I am sure we'll make it again. Thanks! (p.s. We did up the cocoa a little)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I make one very close to this except the one I use calls for half a cup of cocoa powder, 2 tablespoons of vinegar, 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract, and only a dash of salt. If you didn't like this recipe, try it with these modifications. You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My mom let us make this cake when we were kids. We made wells in the dry ingredients to put the liquids in, then poured the water over the top and mixed it all up right in the pan. This is *the* chocolate cake! Love it! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States